Skip to content

Be slow with the towel, please

September 17, 2013

I stood at the window and watched the rain fall onto the pepper plants growing in containers on my deck.  The rivulets rolled down the green leaves and dripped into the shimmery puddles on the wood floor and I noted, as I have many times in the past, that the wet of rain intensifies the colors of everything it touches.  Not just colors, but also smells and sounds.  Somehow, the earth seems more alive when it’s having a drink.

It’s a curious attribute of rain, this amplification thing.  I wonder why God chose rain to bear that effect?  Why not the sunshine?  Why not wind?

I have to wonder if it’s simply how all creation is designed to respond to getting clean.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 8:23 am

    very astute observation, (as usual). Ahhh……l love the feeling of knowing everyday, no matter what, I am clean, pure, righteous, holy……..and I didn’t even have to DO anything!

Trackbacks

  1. Just a bit more…but this is beautiful! | Whatcha Thinkin'?

Leave a Reply

