Skip to content

…but I get up again

September 23, 2013

Another day.  Another whack at this life thing.

The first thing I did was take a 2-year-old out for a spin this morning.  Got him to the van, wrangled him into the car seat. Buckled it correctly (the second time.  The first time he “helped”.).   Drove to pick up some milk, got him out of the carseat without having to cut any straps or call the fire department to use the Jaws of Life, and herded him towards the delivery truck.  We successfully procured the milk and I herded him back to the van, where I discovered he was somehow a lot dirtier than he was five minutes previously.  I don’t know how or why, other than he’s a 2-year-old boy and they are grime magnets.  We made it back home and I was able to present him to his mother without any extra bumps or bruises, something else for which 2-year-old boys are magnets.

I figured this was a good warm-up for anything the day could possibly throw at me.

A few deep breaths, a fresh coat of lacquer on my toenails, and some prophetic worship music turned up loud.  A lot of conversation with the One who is in charge.  A reminder that I can do hard things, even when I’d prefer not.  A resolve that I can disregard the opinions of others as long as I’m solid and my spirit is at peace with God.  A fresh reminder of the things for which I am sold out and about which I do not care to compromise.  Thank God for all the re-set buttons that we can hit over and over as needed.

Heaven knows I’m definitely one of His needy kids.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb Esling permalink
    September 24, 2013 8:40 am

    Love this! Love you!

    • September 24, 2013 9:42 am

      And I love that you do! The feeling is mutual. :)

Leave a Reply

