Skip to content

Behind their disguises

September 29, 2013

I heard it said that we are not like them and they are not like us and since we don’t want their disease we should stay far away from them.

I heard it said that we are blessed and they are cursed and we should not share our blessings with them because they don’t deserve it.

I heard it said that we are in the light and they are in the dark and we should avoid their shadows because their darkness might contaminate us.

I do not understand these things I hear.

I was once a them.  Were you ever a them?

Hope gave Himself to the diseased, the cursed, the shadow-dwellers, the worst of the worst.  He loved them.  He laughed with them.  He touched them.  He went to parties with them and drank wine with them and told them they were beautiful.

And His light spoiled their darkness.  His love crushed their curses and healed their diseases.

My darkness.  My curses.  My diseases.

And He cancelled the death plague and He gave me His light and told me to carry it for Him, to use it to do for others as He did for me.

Hug the diseased.  Bless the cursed, and the cursing.  Ruin their darkness with light.

Love them with your whole heart.

It is their very sickness that qualifies them for a physician.  It is their crisis of lostness that qualifies them for a savior.

We do not understand the true nature of their them-ness.

Because the rebellious, the confused, the liars, the thieves, the profane, the unconcerned, the cheaters, the haters, the champions-of-lost-causes…

…they are treasure, just waiting to be found.

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 29, 2013 10:04 pm

    Now this is some great writing! And it will preach…and did!

Leave a Reply

