Skip to content

Answers in place

October 5, 2013

Life is full of questions.  Sometimes the answers are easy:

“Would you like this cute puppy?”  No way!

“I have this $100 Amazon gift card and really don’t want it.  Could you use it?”  Yes, please!

“How about some cilantro on that?”  NOOOOO!!!!…thank you.

“Would you like to listen to some Switchfoot?”  Always!

“Is that too spicy for you?”  Of course not!

 

But sometimes the only answer you have is “Gosh…I don’t know.”

 

“Is Tropical Storm Karen really going to hit your area?”  Gosh…I don’t know.

“How long will Mr. Sparky be furloughed from his government job?”  Gosh…I don’t know.

“A kissing contusion in your knee joint?  Is that a bad thing?  How long does that take to heal?”  Gosh…I don’t know.

“The optometrist wants you to try bifocal hard contacts on your scarred corneas?  Is that really going to work?”  Gosh…I don’t know.

“Are the installers ever going to show up to install the new flooring from the water damage from last July?”  Gosh…I don’t know.

 

“I don’t know.”  Some things I don’t know are no big deal.  Other things are pretty important, but it doesn’t change the fact that I don’t know, and I’m not in control of the outcome anyway.  I can fret, but what good would that do?  When I don’t know a thing and I can’t know a thing, that’s just an invitation to see what God’s going to do.

Because there are some things I do know:

He is always good.

Nothing is too hard for Him.

I can trust His heart.

I am a citizen of heaven and the broker of kingdom realities.

He is Provider, Healer, Defender.

When He says to seek Him and His kingdom first and everything else we need will show up, He’s not messing around.

He loves, and His love is fierce and strong.

 

Before I even know the questions, these are my answers.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2013 1:46 am

    Thank goodness we can rest in His goodness and His love for us. It’s really all about trust in the end!

  2. October 5, 2013 1:51 am

    Thank goodness we can rest in His love for us. In the end, it all comes down to trust, doesn’t it?

  3. October 5, 2013 11:14 am

    Ahhhh….great, comforting truths. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

