Skip to content

No rain plan for this party

October 6, 2013

If the main highway is jammed with traffic, I can take the back roads.

If my favorite black PJs are dirty, I can wear my green ones.

If I’m out of buttermilk, I can clabber some milk with some lemon juice.

There’s the preferred way, and then there’s the back-up plan.  The back-up plan isn’t quite as good as the preferred way, but the end result will be agreeable enough.

Over the years I’ve developed a taste for a wild life where I get to hang out with Jesus and talk to Him whenever I want.  But I want more than that.  I chase His presence, I chase His heart, but I want to capture it and carry it so that the weight of it brings His kingdom wherever I am.  I want to bring a little fire wherever I walk.  I want to bring love.  I want to bring life.  I want people to be unable to encounter me without also encountering Jesus.

Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse lepers, cast out demons.  Proclaim good news to the poor, proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, set the oppressed free.

This is the aim of my life.  This is my goal every day.  To know Him and walk with Him so closely that it spills out to everyone around me.

And most days, I’m pretty lousy at it.  I get distracted.  I get tired.  I want some ice cream.  Who moved my shoes? Where did all our pens go?  What is wrong with that cat?!

But I can’t give up.  I can’t turn back.  I am ruined for anything other than being a fire walker.  I’m eaten up with a desire and a vision that didn’t originate with me, and I am both unwilling and unable to lay it down.

I have no Plan B.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2013 2:10 am

    That’s me exactly! I get it…

    • October 7, 2013 9:25 am

      I love knowing there are kindred spirits out there!

Leave a Reply

