Skip to content

The sacrifice of self-control

October 10, 2013

I keep writing stuff here and then deleting it and thinking “Wow, sure felt good to get THAT off my chest.”

I have lots of opportunities every day to be a jerk.  I suppose we all do, really.  But at the end of the day, I don’t want to look back and find I took them, even if I was provoked.  The world has enough jerks, and there’s no shortage of provokers out there, either.  And I’m sure I’m an accidental jerk sometimes, but I surely don’t want to be one on purpose.

I’ve heard it said that sacrifice is the highest form of love.  Sometimes it’s a huge sacrifice to not be a jerk.  Sometimes I have to purposefully decide that even though I’m being provoked, I would not be authentically me if I responded the way I want to in that moment.  And later, I’d be sad to realize that I’d blown an opportunity to show a higher form of love.  I would be sad that I chose to move away from my goal, not towards it.

Sometimes it’s really hard to do the right thing now so I won’t be sad later.

That applies to being a jerk AND eating donuts.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2013 10:02 am

    You were doing great til you got to the donuts. :)

    Thanks for the reminder that being my best self is my authentic self.

Leave a Reply

