Skip to content

Floodgates open

October 14, 2013

The sky was heavy and low.  My windshield wipers brushed furiously at the dense rain, but they were only moderately effective at keeping the windshield clear.   How long had it been raining?  The ditches were full.  The retention ponds were full.  The sides of the road were lined with puddles.  The ground was completely saturated, and yet more rain fell.   Though every vehicle on the road had its headlights on, I couldn’t tell what time of day it was because the sky was darkened by the waterlogged clouds,.  I turned onto my street, which didn’t look like my street, and drove to my house, which didn’t look like my house.  I drove up the driveway and pulled around to park in the back yard like we used to do at home when I was a kid, hoping the ground wasn’t so soft and wet that my van would sink into the turf.

I woke up with the sound of the windshield wipers still ringing in my ears.  It was light outside; not a cloud in the sky, but visions of rain remained burned into my mind.

Good things are happening.  Amazing things are on the way.  May I have eyes to see and ears to hear.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kellie permalink
    October 15, 2013 12:12 pm

    This is interesting to me because God had given me an impression about floodgates not long ago (8/23). I was at a 24-hour prayer lock-in at Rockwall, TX, with some prophetic/biblical teaching part of the time about gates and gateways. The focus at the moment was on praying for the gates of our hearts, our homes (personal & church), and our cities – for God’s protection as our Rock, our Fortress, our Deliverer, our Strength, our Shield, the Horn of our salvation, and our Stronghold and for keeping the enemy out, but in that moment of impression, I saw the other form of gates being floodgates that were overflowing as His Spirit filled His people such that defense against the enemy was more the offense of His power and His Spirit flowing out and cleansing or removing that which lay outside the gates. Praying with you for eyes to see and ears to hear and a good bathing suit to enjoy it all in! – Kellie

    • October 15, 2013 12:15 pm

      “I saw the other form of gates being floodgates that were overflowing as His Spirit filled His people such that defense against the enemy was more the offense of His power and His Spirit flowing out and cleansing or removing that which lay outside the gates.” Yes! And thank you. :)

Leave a Reply

