Skip to content

Revisions

October 22, 2013

On my desk within reach there is a notebook from a workshop I took a few months ago.  Under the title it states that this is a revised edition.  I’m sure if I walked over to my bookshelf and started riffling through the books there, I’d find plenty more examples of “revised” literature.

Revise:  a verb meaning to “reconsider or alter (something) in light of further evidence.

I’ve done plenty of personal revision during my time on this ball of dirt.  I seem to be in a revisionist season right now.  I don’t want to believe or do something just because I’ve always believed or done it.  I want the things I believe and do to reflect truth, love, life, and light in a manner that is relevant and powerful.  No room for mindless habits or “that’s just how we’ve always done it.”  No space for “well, I assumed…”

Sometimes I notice folks who resist change on the grounds that “God is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow.”  Well, yes.  Yes, He is.  But He is not static.  Nor is He rigid.  He is bigger than time and space and cultural shifting, and He’s really not as hung up on us trying to reproduce the culture of “bible times” as some folks seem to think.  He’s got no problem working within our framework to mold us to reflect His timeless goodness.  I don’t know how He does that.

Then again, this is the same Person who designed the duck-billed platypus.  He seems to really dig keeping a bit of mystery around His processes.

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

