Skip to content

Rising to the top

October 25, 2013

“Your internal reality will always become your external reality.”  -Bill Johnson

I’ve been chewing on this quote for over a week.  Go ahead…take a couple chomps.  Don’t swallow it whole; you’ll get indigestion for sure.

Chewy, eh?

I don’t know if most folks consider that they cultivate an internal reality.  We all have one, though.

I once knew a woman who was terrified that she’d get cancer.  It wasn’t that anyone in her family had it, or that she engaged in activity known to cause it, but she was scared out of her wits about the possibility and worried and fretted about it for years.  Her internal reality was that she lived in fear of being afflicted.  And since living in fear tends to actually produce affliction, guess what happened?  Yeah…she got cancer.  It became her external reality.

I’ve seen all kinds of negative external realities that I don’t care to produce in my own life.  They don’t reflect who I am, or Whose I am.  Helplessness, rage, control, fear, hopelessness…those are the external results of an internal realities.

But I want my external reality to be love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.  I want the love to be unconditional, the joy to be outrageous, the peace to be unshakeable.  I want the patience to be active, the kindness to be more than “nice”, the goodness to be irrefutable.  I want the faithfulness to be unwavering, the gentleness to be fierce, and the self-control to be submitted to God’s ideas of what is right, not my own.

I want this to be the external overflow of my internal reality.

It is important to me that my internal reality be bigger than the sum total of my body + soul + spirit.  It is vital that it be rooted in the eternal and directed through heavenly perspective.  If I don’t want a human-powered, human-sized life, then I’ve got to have something bigger and better than a human-sized internal reality.  I have to have an internal reality created and fueled by the Holy Spirit.

Some days I fly.  Some days I tread water.  And then there are the days where chaos threatens to completely unravel me.  Life in the earth suit is anything but a smooth, predictable ride, and I can always tell when I’m not buckled in properly.  I am grateful that I have fewer of those days than I used to, but they still happen.  Proof that the internal reality I long for is purposefully created, not something a person drifts into by accident.

I think that is another reason why God’s mercies are new every morning.  It’s the reset button for our internal realities. The nice thing is that we can actually mash that thing any time we want, day or night, as often as we want.

Ask me how I know that.

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2013 8:29 am

    So good. So much to chew. Its like a full meal deal. Thank you.

  2. October 27, 2013 6:10 pm

    Please, I pray you take not as an attact but as discernment from the Word. Now Mr. Johnson speaks as a Believer in Jesus Christ which would mean that according to 2 Timothy 3:16 he would be speaking truths from Scripture. Is this Scriptural? Matthew 5:45 says that rain falls on the Just and the unjust. Also by this logic Paul who gets sick in Galattians 4 must have had a poor internal reality. Or that all the apostles save for John who were persecuted and eventually killed had a poor internal reality becuase they did not live a blessed life.
    I would challenge you, if your speaking of the things of God, you’ll find far better wisdom from his word than from the words of men.

  3. October 27, 2013 11:55 pm

    You know it’s interesting you used the language of eating at the beginning of your post. In John 6 after Jesus had performed one of his greatest miracles of which 5000 people witnessed all but 12 of those 5000 who witnessed that miracle left, they stopped following Jesus. Why? Becuase Jesus taught that they would have to stop focusing on eating bread and focus on eating his flesh and blood. He was talking about his sacrifice for the forgiveness of sins.
    Mr. Johnson here and in many other cases appeals to those who walked away on that day. Those who, after recieving the blessings of Christ walked away becuase they could not swallow the truth of Christ. Which is that it is not about the blessings we recieve (as not all faithful believers are blessed with perfect health or wealth, Galatians 4 is a great example), it’s not about having the right internal reality (as their is only one reality which is God’s reality), it’s simply about Christ. I did not miss the point, I am speaking to the real point. The real point can only be found in the Word not in the cleaver quips from a preacher instead the point is that “While we were still sinners Christ died for us.”. Sure you can adjust your positive thinking and your “Internal reality” (Words that are never mentioned in Scripture).
    It is the point that I am trying to promote that is why I replied to your post. As, just becuase something sounds nice and clever, if it pertains to eternal life found in Jesus Christ would we not be better of turning off folks like Johnson and turning only to the Bible? For this idea, if you look at the life of the Apostles and early Church this clever statement is actually completely unBiblical. if I am wrong I would challenge you to support this statemen by Scripture.

    • October 28, 2013 12:02 am

      No, really…you missed the point.

      There are many blogs and websites out there for the purpose of debating these things, as well as people who enjoy doing so. This is not one of those blogs, and I am not one of those people, therefore I respectfully decline your challenge.

  4. October 29, 2013 9:04 am

    Great post, Lisa. I’m glad I happened upon it today. And the quote is spot-on! For instance, a lot of people in my circles would like to be able to minister to the sick like Smith Wigglesworth did, but he often said that He was a thousand times bigger on the inside that on the outside. Our life in Christ is from the inside-out. And His power flows from His love. Blessings to you.

    • October 29, 2013 9:54 am

      Thank you, Mel. I suspect we share similar circles, and I really appreciate your encouragement and blessing. It is always a HUGE lift to me when someone “gets it”, and in that I find a spark of community. So thanks for being my community this morning. :)

      • October 29, 2013 10:09 am

        You’re welcome. Glad I could be that. And, yes, the communion of the saints, encouraging one another in our mutual pursuit of God, is an awesome thing indeed. :)

Leave a Reply

