Skip to content

Life sans Fairy Godmother

October 30, 2013

I’ve had a couple of days where I can’t seem to catch up with…well, life, I guess.  There’s not enough of me to go around, or maybe it’s more that there’s not enough of me to stretch to some of the places I want and need to go.

I came home from work wiped out tonight.  I picked up a pizza on the way home, which was a B+ in the tasty department but probably a C- in the nutrition department.  After dinner I gathered up overflowing baskets of laundry and started the process of providing clean clothes for my family.  Load five is in the washer right now.  As I stood sorting socks it occurred to me that I could consider these Jesus’ socks.  I am serving Jesus, sorting His socks.

Gosh, I wish Jesus would turn his socks right side out before He throws them in the laundry.

I thought I could see the light at the end of the tunnel when suddenly it occurred to us that we were hearing a cat yowl but we weren’t sure where it was coming from.  Turns out the Jr. Spark had inadvertently locked Agent Mooshie in his room when he left for work this morning.  The cat had been locked in there all. day. long.  We could tell by the questionable odor that it had been too long, but the source wasn’t easily discernible.  But I found it.  Nice going, Moosh. A pile of poo in the middle of the wadded up comforter on the bed.  Another load of laundry.

The noise and chaos level is still rather amazing in this house, and it’s after 11:30pm.  I would like to just call it a night, but Jesus’ cat-poopy comforter is still in the wash.

It’s days like this that I really wish I had something profound to say, but the bottom line truth is that it’s the grace of God that I’m not crouched in the corner, rocking and sucking my thumb and mumbling something about wildebeests and the hula.  Somehow He’s kept me awake, alert, and oriented x4 through unpleasant tasks and difficult conversations, tedious assignments and messy interactions.  My inner taskmaster says I didn’t get enough done today, but He says He wasn’t really all that concerned about what I got done but more the manner in which I did it.  He always has a way of bringing perspective to the table.

Right now I’m looking at tomorrow through a lens of fatigue, which isn’t fair.  Tomorrow will be full, that much I know.  But there will be sleep between now and then, and some coffee and vitamins and a pile of new mercies for starting out the day.  By the time tomorrow becomes a now, it will be all good.

And the laundry will be done.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

