Skip to content

What I’m not thinking about tonight

November 12, 2013

Outside my window the wind is rushing through the shivering trees.  I have donned my winter PJs and my feet are nestled into my red bootie slippers.  Jake the Jerk-Faced Dog is wrapped in his fleece coat and is wheezing in his little bed beside my desk.  The picture would be complete if I had a steaming mug of hot tea in my hands, but alas, I don’t, and I’m feeling too lazy to get up and make one.

All I can think about are the things I don’t want to talk about anymore tonight.

No more sickness.

No more pain.

No more lack.

No more abandonment.

No more abuse.

No more injustice.

No more hatred.

No more prejudice.

No more apathy.

But in the course of not thinking about these things, I can’t help but think about them.  The trees may be shivering but the world’s on fire, and the hot-faced clock is spinning its arms in a wild dance to keep up with the burning.

How does God bear it?

What is it about the human race that is so valuable that He set this world into motion fully knowing how badly it would go once He put it in our hands, willing to suffer with us and for us to erase the debt we’d rack up in our rebellion?  How is it He can look past our mess and still see Himself in us?

In the sick…

in the wounded…

in the impoverished…

in the abandoned…

in the abused…

in the unjustly treated…

in the hated…

in the judged…

in the disregarded…

He is there.  Just as He is with me here in my winter PJs, listening to the wind.

Sometimes my mind just can’t wrap itself around the simplest of things when it comes to Him.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 13, 2013 2:36 am

    What you’re not thinking about tonight is very deep! Well said.

Leave a Reply

