Skip to content

Eenie, Meenie, Miney, No

November 16, 2013

I’ve heard it said you have to choose.

“You can’t have your cake and eat it too.”

“Just pick one.”

“You can’t have it all.”

But why would I have cake I couldn’t eat?  That’s just dumb.

I know people who only want one thing.  They live their lives like a dog with a bone.  I admire that quality, even when it irritates me.

But I can’t seem to narrow my desires down to one thing.  I keep trying, wondering if my inability (or unwillingness) means I’m just not serious enough about a one thing.

Then I wonder…who made up that silly rule, anyway?

Maybe my more-than-one thing is my one thing.  Maybe I am allowed to be serious about more-than-one, and maybe my more-than-one IS my one.  Maybe wanting more-than-one isn’t wanting it all, but wanting The Thing I was made for, but since nobody’s ever seen it before, nobody knows how to recognize it.

Including me.

God wired me with desires that don’t seem to mesh, but maybe the real problem isn’t the meshlessness, but that I’ve been looking at them from the wrong perspective.

I’ll have my cake now.  Fork, please.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2013 8:58 am

    “But why would I have cake I couldn’t eat? That’s just dumb.” haha that was funny! Great perspective. I’m going to use that line next time someone tells me you can’t have your cake and eat it too.

    • November 17, 2013 9:03 am

      Go for it! Seriously…who can argue that?

Leave a Reply

