Skip to content

Wait for it…

November 19, 2013

The waiting game began at 5:00am.  It would not end until after 3:00pm, but I didn’t know that when it started, and it wouldn’t have mattered anyway.  I waited in this room, I waited in this room, I waited in that room, I waited in the cafeteria, I waited in the hall, I waited while standing, I waited while sitting, I waited while praying, I waited while slurping down a totally ineffective Starbucks, I waited while chomping gum until it was far beyond any flavor.

I was waiting for good news.  And once I received that good news, I waited for the proof of it in seeing my friend’s face once she was wheeled from post-op to her room in the Critical Care Unit to be carefully monitored until those in charge of her care are certain that she is stable and recovering well.  So even though I am confident of what happens next, I still wait.

Waiting isn’t for sissies or impatient people.  I’ve known many a person totally unable to cope with a wait, and I’m quite sure I’ve been that person on more than a few occasions.  There can be a strong temptation to attempt to make something– anything— happen, or to control circumstances so that waiting happens on terms that feel less chaotic to the waiter.  But in the end, it doesn’t really change the fact that sometimes a person just has to wait, and there’s just not much you can do about the waiting.

The question becomes what you do with the waiting.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    November 19, 2013 8:12 pm

    And who you do the waiting with…

  2. November 21, 2013 11:41 pm

    I hope your friend is okay. Thanks for sharing. Waiting is the pits!

  3. November 24, 2013 3:50 pm

    There is no greater introspective tool than the wait. Selah.

Leave a Reply

