Skip to content

View 45

November 21, 2013

From where I stand it looks like a mountain, a massive behemoth of solid impossibility that reaches so high that I cannot see the top.  My legs are small and weak, and I cannot see how they could ever carry me to the heights.

But You say climb.

You don’t say it in a bossy way, You say it as if it’s an invitation, as if you know something I don’t, and I know that this should be an easy decision.  But I’ve never much liked climbing, and that mountain looms so high it hurts my neck to try to catch a glimpse of the top.

But then again, it’s You.  I don’t want to miss out on You.  If I die climbing, could it be that terrible if You were there with me?

And so I lift my foot, but before I can set it down, the mountain has been leveled and I move forward with an ease I couldn’t have imagined moments before.

I walk until I reach the city gates, thick and impenetrable.  They are locked, but even if they weren’t they are too heavy for me to push open.  I look, but they are too tall to climb over, and the walls go on forever in each direction, it seems.  I can’t go around.  As I stare at the gleaming metal of the gates, I know the only way is through.

I don’t know how this is going to work, but I move forward as if I do.  Before I can even reach out my hand to touch the cold bronze, the gates shatter into pieces and fall to the ground, and I walk through unhindered, heading straight for the formidable dark fortress in the center of the city.

I feel a resolve building in me with every step.  I don’t know how I know it, but behind those fortress walls are things that were meant for me, things that were snatched away before I could ever really call them mine.  And instinctively, I know that the caverns of that fortress hold far more than that.  I don’t know what I’m going to do when I get there, but I have to get there.

As I approach the fortress I don’t slow down.  I keep walking, and as I reach the locked iron bars of the doors I see them bend and peel back as they are cut clean through by a force that I cannot see with my eyes.  I march through without pausing, and suddenly realize that I’m in the middle of a glorious treasure trove far beyond my imagining.

It’s yours, I hear.

I look around.  This…all this…is mine.  The beauty, the wealth, the incomprehensible value once hidden in the darkness…is now mine.

And all I had to do was lift my foot and start walking towards the impossible.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    November 22, 2013 7:09 am

    I wish there was a love button!

Leave a Reply

