Skip to content

And then I’ll…

November 23, 2013

I am constantly designing the Art Studio Of My Dreams in my mind.

I plan for plenty of space, indestructible flooring and a ridiculous number of outlets.  I can see the large table for working, the cabinets and counters lining the walls so that there is plenty of storage.  I know there will be a sizable sink and running water, and a small mini fridge for storing paint palettes and bottles of fizzy water.  And oh, the lighting!  It must have excellent lighting, preferably plenty of natural light.  There will be one wall left open for hanging this, that, and the other, a constantly changing gallery.  And there has to be good ventilation.  Paints and mediums and glues are all pretty stinky.

When I’m not designing the ASOMD, I’m redesigning my kitchen and hauling it out of the early ’90s.

It’s not that I’m looking to build an art studio or redo my kitchen.  I’d love to, but such projects require a commitment of funds, time, and energy that we just can’t make in this season of our lives.  Too many other things require our focused resources.

But it doesn’t stop me from dreaming.

Dreaming is about considering potential and possibilities.  Some days the ASOMD has bone colored walls.  Other days they’re slate gray, and occasionally tangerine orange.  Some days my kitchen has a walk-in pantry cut through under the stairs, and other days I take out the built-in desk and make an entire wall of storage units along with a built in appliance garage.

Dreaming is low-committment.  It never costs anything to change your mind when you’re just entertaining possibilities and exploring potential.  And it prepares me for the day I might actually get to make some of these decisions for real, even though it may be a very long way away.  Even though it may actually never come.

It’s a good habit, this business of considering potential.  Most things have unrealized potential, and all people do.  If we fail to consider potential, we’ll eventually end up bored and complaining about limitations and failures, which is hardly productive. God gave us the capacity to dream, to harness our own creativity to move things– and people– closer to the fullness of His design for them.

And dreaming is far more productive than complaining, not to mention infinitely less annoying.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2013 11:09 am

    Great points there. I dream too–about my dream home…in fact, very often before falling off to sleep; and just last night. But I laughed when you referred to the ASOMD! Well I’m not laughing at you, but it’s whimsical. Sorta like the MoMA; I know, you get it. Thanks for a pleasant read.

    • November 24, 2013 11:11 am

      I’m glad you’re a fellow dreamer, Mike. :)

Leave a Reply

