Skip to content

Ring ding ding

November 24, 2013

The Sparkette and her friend and I spent some time shopping in Target today.  I don’t go shopping all that much; I get my fill at my own retail job.  Most of my trips to stores are goal-oriented, although I’ll be the first to admit I sometimes get sidetracked.  But to grab a cart and actually browse a store for kicks and grins?  Rarely happens.  And that is probably why I am out of the loop and left scratching my head and asking:

What is up with the foxes?

I probably saw at least six different kinds of fox Christmas ornaments, and I didn’t even look at them all.  I also saw foxes on PJs, foxes on general clothing, foxes on towels, foxes on greeting cards, foxes on cell phone cases, foxes in toys.

It is apparently very fashionable to be a fox these days.

Now don’t go thinking that I’m dissing foxes.  I’m not at all.  I just don’t know what has caused this sudden surge in interest in decorative foxes.  I’ve seen the What Does The Fox Say? video, but I just can’t attribute the current phenomena to that song/video, as weirdly festive as it is.

And I have to wonder…do the owls know that the foxes are slowly pushing them out of their role as America’s current animal darling?

I might need to get me some fox stuff before the woodchucks take over.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    November 24, 2013 11:53 pm

    It’s Heather’s fault. She has always liked foxes and last year we were constantly looking for fox stuff. It was hard to find, This year it’s all the rage. Same with owls, Holly loved them we couldn’t find them, last year an explosion!

  2. November 26, 2013 11:19 am

    Seems to me it is just the retailers marketing ploy…

Leave a Reply

