Skip to content

It grew legs…

November 25, 2013

Has it ever happened to you?  I bet it has.

It’s happened to me lots.

I discover that I can’t find something when I was sure I knew exactly where it was.  I remember where I kept it.  I remember where I last saw it.  But it’s not there.

So I search everywhere.  I look in all the logical places.

And then I look in the illogical places, because more than one person has found their car keys in the freezer.  I never have, personally, but since it could happen, it always seems like a good idea to check.

Upon finding that the lost item is in neither the logical places nor the illogical places, I do the next most sensible thing I can think of and look in all the logical places and illogical places again.  ‘Cause maybe it’s hopping around behind my back or something.

Don’t laugh.  You know you’ve done it too.

And then I go back and look again where I know it’s supposed to be.

It has disappeared into thin air.

The dog must have eaten it.

It was abducted by aliens.

It self-combusted.

Someone broke in and stole it.

It has engaged its cloaking device.

It evolved into a higher form of lost item and is now hanging out with my single socks, wherever they are.

And about that time someone will come in and I will vent my frustration about this ridiculous search and rescue mission I’m on for an item that doesn’t want to be helped, because why else is it still hiding from me?  The someone will ask if I looked _______ (yup) and _______ (yup) and _______ (yup) and _______ (of COURSE).  I have looked EVERYWHERE!  EVERYWHERE, I tell you!

The someone will then decide to “help” by looking in all the logical places I have emphatically stated I’ve already repeatedly looked.

And they’ll find it, right where I’ve looked three times, right where I actually tore everything apart to make sure it hadn’t fallen or slid behind something or whatever.  I will stomp and fume “BUT I ALREADY LOOKED THERE!” and the somebody will shrug and say “well, here it is.”

And sure enough, there it is.

The truth is many things in our lives require another set of eyes in order to see accurately.  We think we have things that we really don’t.  We think we’ve lost things that we really haven’t.  We think things are a certain way and they really aren’t.  Or that they aren’t and they really are.

The only way to know for sure is to employ another set of eyes.  Eyes that are good at seeing more than what’s there, or what’s not there.  Eyes that belong to someone who loves us enough to tell the truth and not be put off by our huffing and puffing and protesting.

We all need a set of eyes like that in our lives– at least one.  And we also need to be a set of eyes like that for someone else whose huffing and puffing and protesting we won’t take personally, because we’ve been there. We’re not going to bust them when they start blathering on about aliens and lost socks.

Because we know the gig.  

And because its a great way to prove eep pop ork ah ah.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2013 11:21 pm

    We all need to look at things thru the eyes of faith :) Thanks for sharing, God bless!

  2. November 25, 2013 11:22 pm

    Thank YOU for being that set of eyes for me on more than one occasion and training me to see better for myself and others. It is a privilege and an honor to find myself paying forward some of the blessings He has given me thru your friendship. And that key fob NEVER did surface!!

  3. November 26, 2013 12:51 am

    “It’s never truly lost until mom can’t find it.”

  4. November 27, 2013 6:39 pm

    Greetings Fellow Blogger! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I hope you accept the nomination. I really enjoy your blog!

    My blog is: Someday I Will Get This Write http://pricelessjoy.co

    Thank you!

    pricelessjoy@icloud.com

    >

Leave a Reply

