Skip to content

It’s the best time of the year

November 26, 2013

The day after tomorrow is Thanksgiving.  Twenty-seven days after that is Christmas.  Seven days after that is New Year’s Day.  That’s really not very many days.

The holidays tend to be super-duper packed full of activity that sucks up a lot of time, energy, and fun tickets.  Even when I limit myself to the bare minimum, I quickly find all three of those tanks draining at an unprecedented rate.

And here is the problem with that:  I don’t want to limit myself to the bare minimum.  I’ve been doing it for years now, just to keep my sanity, and I’m exhausted by January anyway.  This year, I want to really embrace the celebration.  I’m not sure how that’s going to happen because it makes me tired just to think about it.  But I want it to happen anyway.

I love Christmas.  I know that it’s technically a pagan celebration that Christians adopted, but you know what?  I actually kind of like that.  I like that Jesus ruined a perfectly good(?) godless celebration by getting His people so excited about His birthday that they corrupted corruption into a holy-day.  That is seriously SO like Him!

I feel sad when I hear and see so much negativity and complaining around me.  I don’t like that retailers are choosing to open on Thanksgiving, but I intend to vote with my feet on that one, and my feet will not be visiting retail establishments on that day.  And the whole “Happy Holidays” vs. “Merry Christmas” thing?  Good gravy.  Someone is wishing you happiness and joy.  Just receive it, for pete’s sake!  Jesus cannot be diminished by someone choosing to say Happy Holidays!  Isn’t it awesome that He’s that powerful?  It’s actually another thing to be happy about during this season.

And maybe that is what it boils down to:  looking for reasons to be happy this season.  Looking for reasons to love and bless those around me.  Searching for ways to avoid being part of the negativity parade–especially the one that forms in Jesus’ name that doesn’t notice that He’s not waving from the convertible in front.

I am quite sure I’m going to have to make more Chex mix for this venture.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2013 5:49 am

    Love this post! I could not have said it better myself! Seriously, I could not have…:)

    • November 27, 2013 9:15 am

      Well, maybe, but since you’re a blogger you should probably give it a shot! Haha! ;)

      And thank you. :)

  2. November 27, 2013 11:19 am

    I love your “Oh-for-Pete’s-sake!” way! But I get it, like, Really people? My family shuts me down when I talk about instead of the I-don’t-have-money mantra or Let’s-just-give-to-the-kids speech, how ’bout we give no gifts [this year] and truly celebrate one another and Christ and reflect on the meaning of the season. We wouldn’t celebrate any less, but it would mean so much more to each other and spiritually. Don’t get me wrong: I love gifts, too, but sometimes even us Christians get caught up in the world’s commercial hype and forget all about Jesus. I’d rather celebrate Christmas on the 25th of each month, with a gift in tow, rather than cramming it into one season because the spirit of this time speaks to the real craving of our hearts needed throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

