Skip to content

Anybody seen my helmet?

December 5, 2013

The house is quiet.  The Far-Away Sparkette (who is once again far away) packed the GrandSparks and the Lolly-headed dog into her van and drove north this morning.

Within five minutes I’d found several matchbox cars, a larger toy truck, a pair of sneakers, some baby shampoo, baby nail clippers, and a partridge in a pear tree.

Ok, so maybe not that last one.

Within twenty minutes the cats began drifting downstairs and sniffing around, even Dr. Love who has hidden for most of the past three months.  The breakable items are slowly coming back into view, and I put the tissues out where they could be found, because before, they were out where they could be found, and I therefore had to hide them.

That sentence will make sense to everyone who has ever dealt with toddlers.

I don’t have to climb over baby gates, I don’t have anyone begging for my lunch, I don’t have to ninja my way in the door to keep the Lolly-headed Dog from escaping, I don’t have anyone making blood-curdling screeches while I’m trying to converse, I don’t have anyone using the litter boxes as a sandbox or using the pet water bowl as their own personal splash pad.

But…there isn’t a tiny drunk man wobbling up to me with a giant toothless smile, grabbing my pant leg and reaching his arms and waving his hands to be picked up.  No rambunctious little boy is shouting “blblblb!” because he can’t say Nana and this is how he says banana and since Nana and banana sound the same, he calls us both blblblb (think running your tongue in and out of your mouth over your upper lip.  Yup, that’s my name.).

I knew it would be a brief season, and now it’s time for another shift.  I don’t know exactly what effect God wants this closing one to have, or what is coming next.  Sometimes you just can’t know until you find yourself in the middle of it.  It’s best to just buckle in and go along for the ride. Sometimes He floats you down the rolling river, and other times He straps you to a rocket with the fuse about to blow.  You have to figure that no matter what it is, it’s going to be good if you go with Him, because He is good.

Even when you’re going Mach 3 with your hair on fire.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2013 9:38 am

    “Mach 3 with your hair on fire”–now that’s an image!

Leave a Reply

