Skip to content

When I look at the stars…

December 17, 2013

We finally acquired the Sparky Christmas tree tonight.  As we were out I noticed a star or planet low on the horizon and wondered what it was.  By the time I remembered I have an app for that, it was too late and we had entered an area where the star/planet was no longer visible.

But it didn’t stop me from playing with my app, once I remembered it.

The Baton Rouge Sparkette was the one who turned me on to this app.  It’s called “SkyView” and may be one of the coolest apps I’ve ever seen.  When you hold your phone up to the sky, the app identifies the planets and constellations for you and will even tell you a bit about them, if you want to know.  You can scan the whole sky with this app.  Super cool.  You should get you one.

I was having a bit of fun with SkyView when we entered the glare of the commercial strip in town.

Light pollution.  Ugh.  I could no longer see the stars.

But the app wasn’t affected by the light pollution in the least.  I could hold my phone up to the starless haze and without so much as a pause SkyView would tell me that my phone was pointed towards Pegasus or Cassiopeia or whatever.  Just because I couldn’t see them didn’t mean they were gone.  It just meant my eyes weren’t the most useful tool for this situation because something was compromising their effectiveness.

I think it would be nice to have an app like that for when life gets all topsy turvy and I can’t really get a grip on where I am.  Those times happen now and then.  I could just point my phone and it would say “you can be right or you can be in relationship.  Don’t be stubborn”.  Or “you forgot breakfast and you’ve not taken time for lunch.  No wonder you’re grumpy.  Go eat.”  Or “you should spend more time consulting with God about this.”

We all need a reminder of where our true north is now and then.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2013 8:08 am

    You’re becoming one of my favorites, Sparky. ;)

    • December 18, 2013 8:20 am

      I will take that as a high compliment. :)

  2. December 18, 2013 10:33 pm

    Yes! I would like to have that too! :D

Leave a Reply

