Skip to content

Well…whoda thunk it?

December 28, 2013

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions; I figure that if something is a good thing to do, one should just do it and not wait for a certain date.  But sometimes it’s important to take inventory of changes and shifts and events that mattered.  The end of a calendar year is really great for that.  It’s good to take stock of how things are different from a year ago and why.  And just off the top of my head, I can give a pretty solid short list of important events of this past year, things that at this time last year I had no idea would happen.

It’s not a conclusive list, but here’s a few:

Project Jubilee was successfully completed.

God led me to a church family where I could enjoy the company of my tribe.  It felt like forever until I really started to settle in, but over the past couple of months it seems to have shifted from “you’re welcome here” to “home”.

After four years I finally made it back to the Voice Of the Apostles conference in August, an event that still reverberates through my life.

Sparky’s Blog Challenge expanded beyond my personal friends and family, especially when WordPress added it to its official “events” page.  I now have many new friends, many new blogs to read, and a reminder that it’s a good thing to shepherd the creativity of others even if all you’re doing is providing community and cheering them on.

I discovered the annoyance of being slowed down by the physical limitation of knee pain.  I also enjoyed hosting a three ring circus at my house when the Far Away Sparkette and the GrandSparks and the Lolly-Headed Dog came to visit for a few months.  These two things happened at the same time.

Next year will have its own list.  At the end of 2014 I’m sure I’ll have plenty of reasons to look back and say “well…I didn’t see that one coming…”

I suppose that would scare some folks.   But I don’t care to entertain fear when I could instead entertain hope.  After all, in 2014, I plan to:

-welcome (and birth coach) a third GrandSpark into our family.

-have a healthier knee (arthroscopic surgery in two weeks).

-go to Brazil with Global Awakening as part of their ministry team.

-pet my cat.

And even if some of those things don’t happen, it will still be good.

Except for that part about petting my cat.  If I fail to pet my cat, it will not be good.  So I shall pet my cat so that it will be good.

And so I won’t get bitten by an annoyed cat who wants more attention.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    December 28, 2013 10:14 pm

    I love you! One of the many reasons is because you can make me see stuff differently!

  2. December 28, 2013 10:33 pm

    I love the list and love that I got to be a part of some of the things on your list. And love the encouragement you provide to the blog challenge peeps…and the rest of your peeps. Looking forward to seeing what wonderful things 2014 presents to you my friend. :)

    • December 28, 2013 10:34 pm

      You were a part of most of the list, weren’t you? That’s fun!

  3. December 29, 2013 11:14 am

    Thank you! I gladly receive your encouragement, blessing, and rejoicing!

Leave a Reply

