Skip to content

Beige walls

January 4, 2014

She had no idea I was watching her.  Granted, I was engaged in my own business and it wasn’t like I was staring, but I could tell by watching her that she worked very hard to be invisible and she likely assumed her cloaking device was operating at full efficiency.  All it really did, however, was keep her from seeing me see her.

She wore nondescript jeans and shoes and an oversized sweatshirt.  Her medium brown hair had absolutely no style whatsoever—no cut, no color, not even a solidly placed part.  She wore no makeup, no jewelry.

She told the tech she wanted glasses with darker frames.  But I watched as she narrowed her choices to three pairs of very neutral frames about the same color as her hair, all of them with similarly shaped rectangle lenses that didn’t particularly flatter her, though they didn’t look terrible, either.  She rejected any frame with color or shape or trim that hinted at individuality or creativity or fashionability.

She needed the glasses to see, but she clearly had no desire to be seen.  Every bit of color and fire, every scrap of personality in her was kept locked up tightly so that nothing in her appearance would hint at what was inside of that wiry little package.

But like I said, I was watching her.  And I saw much more than she could have known, had she realized that her cloaking device was little more than plastic wrap to me.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2014 12:50 am

    This one was breathtaking…

  2. January 4, 2014 7:44 am

    Excellent! But… what is a cloaking device?

  3. Joann permalink
    January 4, 2014 8:53 am

    I wanted more!

    • January 4, 2014 9:54 am

      As a writer, I’m glad, Joann.

      As the person who experienced this girl, I feel rather sad. People who engage heavily in invisibility usually keep those around them feeling vaguely unsatisfied and are willing to accept that tradeoff in order to have some sense of self-protection.

      • Joann permalink
        January 4, 2014 10:43 am

        It did make feel sad, I dislike seeing people who don’t value who they are and who don’t know how to show who they are. It makes you wonder why they are hiding.

  4. January 4, 2014 1:42 pm

    We humans tend to hide in so many different ways…..I take it you are a Star Trek fan? ;-)

    • January 4, 2014 5:17 pm

      Not a Trekkie, but I’ve enjoyed the old series and many of the films enough to know a good bit of the lingo. And enough to know one should never get sucked in by the cuteness of Tribbles. ;)

Leave a Reply

