Skip to content

Dominos

January 5, 2014

I came home from work this evening and before I knew it, I’d touched a domino.

You know what happens when you touch a domino, right?  It falls over and knocks over another domino, which knocks over another domino, which knocks over another domino…

By the end of three or so hours later,

-I’d rearranged the family room

-the floor under the rug was cleaned (how does all that dirt get under there anyway?)

-I reconfigured the lighting in the family room to go with the new furniture arrangement

-the giant lamp in the family room made its way to the garage

-I de-furred the family room furniture

-the GrandSparks’ baby toys/furniture, freshly cleaned, finally found a home in the attic

-the Christmas tree joined the red sofa at the curb

-I vacuumed the pine needles out of the carpet and broomed them up from the wood floor

-I scrubbed a mystery stain out of the carpet (or semi-out, really)

-I shoved all the living room furniture back into its pre-Christmas Tree configuration

-I let Jake the Jerk-Faced Dog in and out about eight times, because he’d get so excited about all the activity that he couldn’t think of anything to do other than go wiggle and whine and stamp his feet at the door to be let out.  This, of course, was quickly followed by barking to be let back in, because it’s cold out there and he didn’t really want to go out, it was just all he could think to do with his excitement.

It’s kinda nice, really, to be able to actually see the dominos fall in a way that I can observe their connection and really see how one thing led to another, all in a span of about three hours.

If only I could see the domino patterns of life so easily.

Sometimes I stop and think:  how did I get here?  what caused this?

Not just the bad stuff, the stuff of regrets, but the good things too.  Probably more so the good things than the bad.  I wonder where the first domino was.  Did I knock it over?  Did someone knock it over for me?  Was I even born when it fell down?  Did I consciously make a choice to knock it over, or was it the consequence of something else that happened?  Could I be who I am and where I am today without any one of these dominos that are now toppled over?

God often uses things so inconsequential to us that it doesn’t even register to us to make note of them.  And sometimes He uses those things to make huge impacts.  The day we turned left instead of right.  That time we went to the post office before going to the grocery store, instead of the other way around.  The time we actually stopped at a yellow light instead of trying to run through it before it turned red.  Dominos so small, and yet because of them we find ourselves in the right place at the right time for whatever He’s got up His sleeve.

And He’s got really big sleeves.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2014 8:07 am

    Love it! (As always :D)

  2. January 5, 2014 9:16 pm

    Hmm…it was a nail in the tire for me. So thoughtful, Sparky…always thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

