Skip to content

Finny fun

January 8, 2014

Phrases and words set aside many years ago are filtering back into my vocabulary.

Bioload…

Fluval…

Eheim…

Filter media…

Denitrification…

Ich…

Labidochromis…

Mouth brooder…

Substrate…

Check valve…

Schoolers…

Swim bladder…

Ozone…

Stress crack…

Interspecies aggression…

This is some of the vocab of aquarium enthusiasts.  I used to be one, but my tank was shattered during a move and I decided I didn’t really have the time, space, or energy to pick it up again anyway.  That season of my life was sent to the curb with the box of glass shards.

Now all these years later, there is a tank waiting for my attention.  Mr. Sparky’s coworker wanted to switch hobbies and offered her tank to anyone who wanted it.

Why…yes, please!

Isn’t if funny how God revisits the desires of your heart that you discount as unimportant and frivolous?  When I started working for a pet store back in the day, I had no idea I was going to become so interested in fish—so much that by the time I was on my third store with the chain, I was managing the fish department.  But He knew.   And He still knows.

There is a lot I once knew that it’s time to know again.  And there’s also a lot to learn that will be new.  Technology has advanced, name brands have come and gone.  I’m already making a list of equipment that needs to be replaced, and I’ve been digging through Amazon’s customer ratings on various items to try to figure out who’s making quality supplies these days.

I wonder who is going to be living in the tank?

I hope they like cats.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2014 7:45 am

    Well at least we know the cats will like them! :D

  2. Joann permalink
    January 8, 2014 7:45 am

    My little beta, Pishy, keeps me happy enough that I don’t have to do a big tank. Maybe one day when we are done moving!

    • January 8, 2014 9:45 am

      I had a betts here for years. Mr. Shiny Pants lived in one of those vases where you put a plant on top and the roots just grow into the water where the fish lives. He was one hardy fish. I picked him up off the floor…I fished him out of the garbage disposal…and he just kept on being beautiful. :)

Leave a Reply

