Skip to content

Covering the basics

January 20, 2014

There are days when I wish I could turn off the part of my brain that reminds me about schedules and chores and how to work the washing machine.

I would then like to turn on the part that can feel light and smell color, and I would like to pick up a paintbrush and begin covering all the blank canvases I have stored around here.  I would paint until I figured out how to do it, and then I’d paint some more.

You might look at one and say “that’s a very nice kitty” and I’d say “it’s a candle”.

And then you’d hold one upside down and say it was very nice.  I would just say thank you.  It’s sweet of you to say so.

Maybe if I covered enough canvases, you’d eventually be able to look at one and say “this is what it looks like when your soul is singing in an afternoon rainstorm”, and I would say “yes, that is exactly right”, because it would be.  And you’d pick up another and say “this looks like how your heart feels about trees”, and I would say “you understand me well”, because that is how my heart feels about trees.

But for now my brain has to spend its energy and focus on other things.  It takes a lot out of a person to paint the pictures trapped inside her, and it will have to wait for another day.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2014 10:19 pm

    I think it’s so difficult for creative people to be forced into the mundane chores of life. Just because it kills something inside of us. Still we have to conform out of necessity, but no one can make me stop imagining as I mop the floor!

    • January 21, 2014 12:01 am

      I find it difficult to muster energy for both.

  2. January 21, 2014 6:13 pm

    I feel the same about writing. That part about feeling light and smelling colors is perfect.

    • January 21, 2014 6:17 pm

      Writing is an art project for me, often. I just use words instead of paint to make the picture.

Leave a Reply

