Skip to content

For not everyone

January 24, 2014

A trip to the orthopedic office is always interesting.  I suppose there are people who go there to deal with sports injuries and the like, but I don’t see them during the hours when I go.  Instead, I’m pretty much the youngest and most able-bodied person in the place.  Little limp from having the knee scoped?  No biggie.  At least I’m walking on two working legs.

I’m grateful I can get care.  I try to tangle with the medical folks as little as possible and am becoming progressively crunchier in how I deal with personal health issues, but I am thankful that when I really need medical intervention, I can get it.

This isn’t true for everyone.  Not everyone can see a doctor when they are sick or hurt.

There are a lot of “not everyones” in life.

Not everyone has a jacket to wear when they are cold.

Not everyone has a safe place to sleep when they are tired.

Not everyone has food when they are hungry.

Not everyone has someone to protect them when the bullies of life are lurking.

Not everyone has someone who cares if they learn right from wrong.

Not everyone has the freedom to choose for themselves.

Not everyone cares about being good, or clean, or fair.

Not everyone manages to become a decent human being, in spite of actually having all the good things mentioned above.

Some folks seem to just land on this planet by plowing face-first into the dirt.  Others land nicely and then fall over and start digging.  We humans are a messy lot, prone to bad behavior fueled by treating our minds like garbage dumps.  We abuse ourselves, we abuse others, we inherit and bequeath abuse.

And Jesus says “Let Me clean that up for you.”

I am forever amazed.  He didn’t come for the healthy or the good or the pious.   He came for the train wrecks and the tabloid covers and freak shows.  He came for the filthy and the starving.  The least, the last, the worst.

Maybe this is divine comedy in its truest nature.  Sin takes its best shot, the earth heaves and shudders at the violence…and God laughs through His tears as His Rescue Plan is executed.

It is beyond my comprehension.

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2014 7:02 am

    Thanks, I was just thinking as I was making coffee this morning how absolutely awesome it is to know Jesus. Had it not been for Him, I’d have never made it this far on the planet…and if I had made it…….I’d be a HUGE, Floundering, Angry Mess of a person. I love that EVERY second of the day He’s right there! I still flounder, get angry and make messes but it’s not who I am! Yippee!

  2. January 24, 2014 10:23 pm

    I do think this life is a ‘divine comedy’. Furthermore, I think most of us as humans are Hardy rather that Laurel, Gilligan rather that the Skipper. Most of use don’t have a clue as to what is really going on.

Trackbacks

  1. For not everyone | BLEEDING my EMOTIONS
  2. Roundup of Stars! | BLEEDING my EMOTIONS

Leave a Reply

