Skip to content

Leaving the edge on

February 2, 2014

“Faith isn’t an epidural. It’s a midwife who stands next to me saying, ‘Push. It’s supposed to hurt.'” 
Brené Brown

.

Maybe it’s just me.  Maybe I’m the only one who ever pulls up short, digs in my heels, and says:

This. Is. Just. Too. Hard.

“Hard” can mean any number of things on any given day.  It might mean I am discouraged or frustrated.  Or maybe I’m tired.  Or weak, or unfocused, or overwhelmed, or maybe it’s just past lunchtime and I really need a sammich.  But for whatever reason, the hard I’m experiencing is just TOO.

And I don’t wanna anymore, because of the too-ness.

Push, He says.

I can’t.

Push, He says.

I’m tired.

Push, He says.

There’s nothing happening.

Push…

Pain often feels like the ultimate sign that I’m facing the impossible.  It rarely occurs to me when I’m in the throes of it that pain is actually the ultimate sign that something is going as it should.  Life will come of this.

But that is the role of faith.  Faith doesn’t deny the pain, but celebrates its purpose.  Faith reminds me that pain isn’t to be feared, but embraced as a part of the process.

Push…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chelsea Harrell permalink
    February 2, 2014 1:05 am

    Faith IS like a midwife! Love this !

  2. February 2, 2014 12:36 pm

    That last paragraph…Mm.
    Thanks for the extra…push.

Leave a Reply

