Skip to content

I dare you…

February 17, 2014

I dare you.

I dare you to try a new food today.

I dare you to buy a shirt in a color you never wear and then WEAR it.

I dare you to be nice to that dreadful person that you usually avoid at all costs.

I dare you to part your hair on the other side.

I dare you to buy coffee for someone you don’t know.

I dare you to tell God about that owie you insist doesn’t exist.

I dare you to draw a picture and write a note on it and give it to someone without apologizing for the quality of the artwork, spelling, or grammar.

I dare you to sing a happy song in public. Don’t worry that it’s not good enough for anyone else to hear.

I dare you to buy a flower and give it to someone who needs some beauty and giving in their life right now.

I dare you to slow down and refuse to run any yellow lights today.

I dare you to tell everyone you meet today a reason why you think they’re awesome, even if you have to make something up.

I dare you to do at least one of these things, and then come back here and tell about it in the comment section of this post.

Make that last one a double-dog.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. sparrowkindalove permalink
    February 17, 2014 6:12 am

    Love this!! Challenge accepted!

  2. sparrowkindalove permalink
    February 17, 2014 6:12 am

    Reblogged this on Sparrow Kinda Love and commented:
    I triple dog dare you!

  3. February 17, 2014 8:51 am

    Great post! :D This wasn’t on your list but I have a friend who has 5 children (all still at home). She lives fairly close to me. I know how busy she is. I know she needs help. I know she needs a friend that can help take some of the pressure off of her. So, I do 3-4 loads of her laundry each week. She is so very grateful. (So are her kids). And really, I don’t mind at all. After all, what are friends for?

  4. sparrowkindalove permalink
    February 17, 2014 6:12 pm

    Ok, so I started simple with parting my hair differently.. I figured that one I could handle :)
    There was only one other person in the office today because it’s a holiday and I made a point of telling her how awesome she was!
    Then the bigger challenge..being nice to someone I dread talking to. First try I did OK but it wasn’t really authentic.. So I made a point of trying again.. This time being genuinely kind and friendly. It actually felt great to do that!
    Thanks so much for posting this.. I love a good challenge!

    • February 17, 2014 6:14 pm

      I love that you actually made a second pass at being nice at someone you dread talking to. I doubly love that it felt better the second time around!

  5. February 21, 2014 4:02 am

    i decided to follow u just because i think this is so cute

    • February 21, 2014 7:54 am

      Why, thank you! I hope you enjoy reading my random ramblings. :)

  6. March 2, 2014 5:49 pm

    I haven’t thought of double dog dares in years!! brought a smile to my face – great dares too!!!

Leave a Reply

