Skip to content

Not my kind of party

February 18, 2014

I swallowed a spoonful of honey tonight, trying to ease an annoying cough.  I may have to make a batch of homemade cough syrup, a wicked blend of this and that with enough firepower to burn out any germs that dare lurk, though at this point I don’t think germs are the issue, but instead, their aftermath.

They came, they saw, they had a frat party in my body, and they ran off without cleaning up after themselves, the jerks.

I am reminded once again that I do not have a good attitude about getting sick.  It’s actually been 3 1/2 years since I was last sick.  I haven’t even had a cold in that time.  The earth suit has its frailties, I know.  But my heart and mind are lined up with a kingdom where sickness is something to be healed, not tolerated, and I struggle to be all chippy nice-nice about having to deal with it personally.

That said, the human body is amazing.  The frat parties happen, and somehow the immune system becomes the campus police and it knows just what to do.  I don’t rush to the doctor because I know most of the time my body has the smarts to deal with the invasion on its own.  God did an incredible job designing humans.  Our bodies can self-repair after some pretty amazing insults.

Still, I wouldn’t be surprised if I didn’t eventually cough up a few miniature togas and a few tiny red Solo cups…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2014 4:45 am

    LOL! Not sure what togas are (I think of those things Caesar use to wear :D) Sorry you are ill Lisa. I will say some prayers for your healing. True it is, amazing how God made our bodies to heal. “Physician, heal thyself.”

    • February 19, 2014 7:25 am

      That’s EXACTLY what togas are! Toga parties used to be the thing on campuses. Don’t know if they still are.

      I’m on the mend now and the cough is what’s left. It appears that I was visited by the flu last week. Though I’m no longer sick, it appears that it takes some time to get actually well.

      • February 19, 2014 4:03 pm

        The same thing has been going around the Four Corners area too. Glad you are feeling better!

  2. February 19, 2014 4:47 am

    P.S. I warm up a 1/2 cup of water in microwave and add a 2-3 Tblsp. Hydrogen Peroxide and gargle 2-4 times a day. Seems to work for me.

  3. February 19, 2014 10:25 pm

    Lisa, you got me laughing. A perfect way to describe a nasty cold. I don’t run to the doctor unless there’s no other choice. You are absolutely right about the human body. In most rotten incidences, it will straighten itself out. Hope the lingering cough decided to find another frat house to storm.

Leave a Reply

