Skip to content

Lost in the wiring

February 22, 2014

I know some stuff.

Some of it I learned from books in my 17 years of schooling. Some of it I learned from life experiences. Some of it I learned from Google and YouTube.

You can learn a lot from Google and YouTube.

I used to know some stuff that I’ve now forgotten. Like the Krebs cycle, and how to steam-set silk dye, and dozens of words in sign language.

I reckon I could re-learn that stuff if I wanted to.

I’ve heard it estimated that most humans only use about 10% of their brain power and capacity for most of the tasks they encounter on a daily basis. I wonder what all that gray matter is doing when it’s not lit up trying to cook an omelet or text someone? Perhaps it’s resting. Or maybe it’s trying to sort and file the enormous number of advertising jingles we all have stuck in our heads.

What I really wonder is what happens up there when I tell my mind to hush and then listen with my spirit, engage with my heart.

It took me a lot of years to learn to do that.  My mind wanted to be in charge all the time.  It wanted to figure everything out, and if something couldn’t be defined, defended, and explained in a rational manner, my mind wasn’t willing to give it the time of day.

And look at me now.  I believe all sorts of outrageous things.

Proof that God still does miracles, for sure.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2014 7:42 am

    Indeed :D

  2. February 23, 2014 10:38 am

    What you need is some sort of song to help you remember… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFiaIS1IKIA

    • February 23, 2014 6:09 pm

      Oh lordy…hahaha! And with an out-of-tune piano to boot! Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

