Skip to content

The symmetry of snowflakes and wedding cakes

February 23, 2014

The wonder of wonder.

When a tiny fist is curled around your finger, how do you not experience wonder? Or when you watch a hummingbird hover in flight, or a fireworks show with color exploding across a night sky, or see the swirling rainbow of colors on the surface of a bubble—how can you shrug your shoulders and say “oh…that.  Yeah, whatever…” as if it’s some dull dismissible thing?

Sometimes it seems as if wonder is becoming a scarce commodity. Not because of a lack of wondrous things, but because of something in us, this bitter and jaded human race, sedated to insulate ourselves from the stress and pain of life. We forget that when we insulate from the pain, we also insulate from the joy.

We dull ourselves to wonder.

When I first met Mr. Sparky he was an aeronautical engineering student. “I don’t want to know how planes fly,” I told him. “To me it’s magic, and I don’t want to spoil it.”

Thirty-two and a half years later, he’s still keeping it a secret from me.  Oh, I know there’s something about lift and thrust and pixie dust, but I don’t know the details and that’s really fine and dandy with me.

I don’t want to lose the capacity for a wow!  I never want to forget how to be amazed.
.
When the water is perfectly still and I can see the complete reflection of this world in that watery one…
When I feel the breath of God whisper across the back of my neck…
When stick my nose in a gardenia and inhale deeply…
When I read a line that sends shivers up my spine…
When I see a sunset marbled with brilliant color and glorious light…
When I watch row after row of waves crash onto the shoreline…
When I catch a baby toad smaller than my pinky nail…
When I hear the laughter of children…

May the eyes of my heart remain clear to recognize the breathtaking wonder of the extraordinary ordinary, and be awed.

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2014 7:54 am

    I agree, it is all magic. God is magical, wonderful, awesome, and great!

  2. February 24, 2014 12:37 pm

    Thank you for such a beautiful post! Your writing seems to resonate so much and i do enjoy reading your posts.

    • February 24, 2014 12:45 pm

      Thank you so much, Regina. That’s a beautiful encouragement to me!

Leave a Reply

