Skip to content

Make a hole and make it wide

March 26, 2014

I’m not a very good groupie.

I just went digging in the guts of my Facebook and discovered that I was a member of a mess of inactive/uninteresting/irrelevant groups, some of which I never even joined in the first place.  It seems well-meaning friends added me somewhere along the way, and Facebook, which never fails to find an excuse to send me notifications and invitations to play Candy Crush (which I don’t), simply never bothered to tell me.

So I went on a deleting spree.  I may need to go soak my mouse-clicker finger in some epsom salts.

I feel myself ramping up a drive to make room.  I don’t know why.  I don’t even know what I’m making room for.  I just know that I’m growing intolerant of clutter and space-stealers.  Space in my mind, space in my heart, space in my calendar, space in my space.

I want elbow room, Daniel Boone.

There’s nothing worse than having something interesting and beautiful appear and not having personal space to accommodate it.  Some folks like operating in tight quarters.  Not me.  I want to allow room for growth and expansion.

It’s like when you plant a seed.  If you plant seeds too close together, when they start sprouting you have to pull up a bunch of perfectly good plants to get proper spacing. Otherwise they won’t have room to grow and all the seedlings will be stunted and prone to disease and will bear little fruit.

I don’t want to be stunted and prone to disease and fruitless, and I don’t want anything in my dominion or sphere of influence to be stunted and prone to disease and fruitless.

So wherever there is crowding—be it in my schedule, my house, my thinking, my attitudes, my heart, wherever—there needs to be space.

And it needs to be enough space for an oak tree, even if all that shows up is a tiny acorn.

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2014 6:31 am

    Good words! This just reinforces my rather sudden decision to plan a short vacation. My brain needs space.

    • March 26, 2014 10:05 am

      There’s a spare room in Florida perfect for vacating, only 20 minutes from the beach. Just sayin’. :)

  2. Joann permalink
    March 26, 2014 7:33 am

    I was just reading yesterday of being pruned to grow fruit more abundantly! I pray that that is what is happening in me!

    • March 26, 2014 10:06 am

      Pruning is such a painful season, and yet it’s what comes before truly glorious ones.

  3. March 26, 2014 9:23 am

    I agree with you. I was following one blog and come to find out, every comment I made to her showed up on my Facebook page. What the heck?! I HATE that! I stopped following her because of it. I don’t know how that happened because I’m not tech savy.

    • March 26, 2014 10:09 am

      It has to do with how that person has their blog connected, I believe. I know others who have this kind of setting. And I understand what you’re saying. I don’t mind making a public comment on the blog, but making one on FB is somehow different, and I want to KNOW that I’m broadcasting to all my FB friends before I make a direct comment to someone. I will likely comment a lot less on that blog.

      • March 26, 2014 10:24 pm

        It certainly is good to know when this is happening, as I did not know it was happening. Because I am a grandmother, my Facebook is strictly for me to connect with my children and grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

