Skip to content

Penny Candy

March 31, 2014

A little bell rang as I walked through the door.

The late golden sun slanted through the front window

and lit the shelves on the walls

with its warm brilliance.

Jars and tins,

filled with oddities and curios,

were stacked from floor to ceiling—

or was it ceiling to floor?

I ran my finger

along the edge of a shelf.

Dust fish sprung into the air,

swimming in chaotic circles,

sparkling in the sunlight.

The wooden floor creaked

beneath the steps of my feet

as they traced a well-worn groove.

And there amongst the shelves

I found

a mirror on the wall,

and meaning to check my hair

I turned to my reflection

only to find my left eye at the bottom of my nose

and

my right ear tilted upwards,

but I could not tell which was actually broken:

the mirror or me.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2014 8:29 am

    I, very rarely, like poems. I’m just not a poem-kind of wench. But I really liked this one. Because I don’t usually read poems, I don’t know about all the differences in style. What is the style of this one? Is it just called free verse?

    • April 1, 2014 10:09 am

      Honestly, Glynis, I rarely like poetry either. I love poetic language, but hate reading in rhymes, and though I once knew all about pentameter and whatnot, I’ve forgotten it and am not interested enough to relearn it. ;) So I just call this free verse, because in truth I use the breaks and lines to help people read at a certain pace and rhythm in their heads, much as I use breaks and lines in my regular writing. I don’t know if it works, but since I don’t read something like this with the same pacing as a normal paragraph, I’m hoping it works that way for others, too.

      • April 1, 2014 10:10 am

        And I should probably note that I make the “I don’t like poetry” exception for Robert Frost. Love me some Robert Frost. :)

Leave a Reply

