Skip to content

A change in scenery

April 19, 2014

The Sparky Nation may be suspecting by now that the “round earth” theory is a bunch of media-fueled toad bunk, because it seems highly probable that it is flat and that Sparky must have sailed off the edges into the cosmic abyss.

Seriously…what other reason could there possibly be that you haven’t heard from her?

Well, you can relax.  I’m alive, and the world is round.  I know this because the B52s sing that song that says “roam around the world” and we all know that you can’t really roam AROUND something unless it is round.

So, see?  Proof.

This is actually the first day I’ve felt alive since Monday.  On Monday morning I started my road trip towards southern Illinois to visit the Far-Away Sparkette and her family for the purpose of helping her bring GrandSpark 3 into the world (which we now know for sure is round).  I was six hours away from home when I felt the tiniest hints that I might not be feeling so well.  By the time I arrived at her house about 24 hours later, the personal furnace was cranked up to 102 and the Misery Factor was smacking me around.

Excellent conditions for interacting with pregnant women, toddlers, delivery rooms, and newborns.  Not.

I crawled into bed before 7pm, aching and shivering and sweating and swallowing razor blades, and didn’t emerge from that room until about 36 hours later, when I’d had enough and was desperate to find an Urgent Care facility.  I’m now on antibiotics and I feel MUCH less like roadkill, which may have something to do with the fact that I finally got a decent night’s sleep, and also that I had a lot of awesome people praying for me.

I’m here until GrandSpark 3 decides to grace the planet with his presence, and then for a little bit afterward, to help the Far-Away Sparkette get back on her feet and start figuring out how to ride herd on three feisty little boys under the age of three.

I think that’s pretty much the equivalent of trying to train three caffeine-jacked monkeys with their tails on fire to crochet doilies.

You’ll hear from me some while I’m here, but perhaps not on the daily basis to which you’ve become accustomed.  I have to help hold the yarn and the fire extinguisher, you know, and that does take some time and special ninja skilz.

So stick around, kids, because you never know what’s going to happen, and I’ll be home from my adventures a-ROUND the world before you know it.

See what I did there?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2014 1:04 am

    Yay for another grandspark! That is wonderful :-). Hope that you’re better real quick so that cuddles of newborn are able to be given!

  2. April 19, 2014 8:04 am

    Sorry to hear about you feeling ill. Hope you are now back to feeling good! Congratulations on new baby boy! :D

    • April 19, 2014 8:33 am

      I’m definitely feeling better, and I’m at good in fits and spurts because I still wear out easily. But it’s coming back quickly! I’m ready for that baby now!

  3. April 19, 2014 2:41 pm

    Well I am glad you are getting better. Congrats on the new little GrandSpark

    • April 19, 2014 3:41 pm

      Thanks! I’m so excited for him to get here!

      • April 19, 2014 3:45 pm

        Oh, I misunderstood thought he already got here. Well congrats anyways…

  4. April 20, 2014 8:15 am

    I haven’t been around as much either and I don’t post everyday. I think I put too many irons in the fire. One of those irons should be out for a little bit so I’ll have more time.

    I see nothing wrong with posting less than daily. In fact, it takes a lot of that burden away of having to figure out something interesting to write every day. Blog on your own terms.

    • April 20, 2014 8:37 am

      The main reason I try to post daily is the Sparky’s Blog Challenge. It’s kinda of discouraging for others participating in it if the leader of it isn’t making a solid effort to do it! Of course, other participants jump in for a week at a time, while I am pretty much a permanent fixture. And sometimes it just doesn’t happen, and that’s ok. But for me to push past “I don’t feel like it today” or “I don’t know what to write about” has been a positive, albeit painful at times, benefit of the challenge. :)

  5. Gerri permalink
    May 14, 2014 10:23 am

    Glad you are feeling better and congratulations! That is wonderful! Also, thanks for liking my list!

Leave a Reply

