Skip to content

Happily miserable

May 16, 2014

People are funny.

Sometimes they are funny-haha.  Sometimes they are funny-peculiar. Occasionally they’re just a good ole Southern “bless your heart” funny.

Working retail, I see plenty of all three.

A guest stepped into the store this afternoon and made it clear right away that she would not be easy to please.  She began to describe what she wanted, weaving tighter and tighter parameters around what she was willing to try until there was almost nothing left to try.  She wasn’t even willing to try on an alternative color of an item that could be obtained in her desired color and proper size, should it fit.  Every polite and positive suggestion was met with negativity and criticism.

Yeah, she was a real barrel of monkeys, that one.

It was no surprise to me that she left the store empty-handed.  I do my best to please every guest, but human nature being what it is, some folks prefer to prove to you that they can’t be helped, regardless of whether or not that’s true.

It just seems to me like an awfully miserable way to live.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2014 1:21 am

    Aaaaaah, the joys of working retail and the lessons we learn about humanity there. ;) It’s always fun reading of the crazy tales of people-meeting that happens out in the great world of Consumerism. Thank you for sharing with the blogging world. It’s a good giggle at the crazy humanity we live in.

    • May 17, 2014 1:26 am

      This blog has some crazy stories about work. I’ve had more than a few “that did NOT just happen!” moments! Haha!

  2. Sharon permalink
    May 17, 2014 8:23 am

    She might be related to the guest who screamed at me on the phone from the second I answered and seemed to be actually disappointed that we were indeed able to make things right. It made me sad for her that she seemed happier being mad at us than having things set right. Of course, the louder she got the softer my voice got. I’ve taught pre-school, I know how that game works. What can she say….they made me soooooo mad, they messed up and the FIXED IT! :-) wink wink. I had to giggle at your “Bless her heart” comment. My dear mother-in-law had been using that term for years thinking it literally meant to “bless” another and recently told me that she was talking to a friend in Arkansas who explained to her what it actually meant and she was horrified…Mom didn’t quite get that one.

    Your blogs are always thought provoking, thanks Lisa!

    • May 17, 2014 9:15 am

      I often use “bless her heart” in a way that really means blessing. When I mean it the southern way, I’m usually pretty clear about that. ;)

  3. May 17, 2014 8:59 am

    I’ve only worked in retail for a very short time, but when I did, I saw plenty of what you describe. I was amazed that anyone ever did anything more than come in, look about, buy something and leave. That had been the extent of my own retail experiences and it was the only template I had for the interaction. Instead, there were -characters. And they had parts to play.

    • May 17, 2014 9:19 am

      I think that is the best description of it I’ve ever heard! Haha!

  4. May 18, 2014 9:17 am

    Sounds to me that she was shopping for attention. Once she had her fill she was out the door.

Leave a Reply

