Skip to content

The bottomless pit

June 3, 2014

I like simplifying.  Over the years I’ve gotten rid of a lot of unnecessary stuff, and there’s still plenty more to go.  I may torment myself when I’m making the decision to get rid of something, but always feels good once it’s gone.

Given that, I often feel like a hypocrite when something catches my eye and I think “gosh, I’d sure like to have that!”  But it happens.  I don’t care about having things for prestige, but I do like things that are beautiful and/or meaningful.

This afternoon I overheard a curious conversation.  I’m not sure it was much of a conversation, really; it was more of a disgruntled monologue with an occasional interruption from my coworker.

The woman came into the store to return an item.  She was Mrs. Cranky Pants, for sure.  It wasn’t just about the item she had to return, but about everything in her life in general.  She complained about her Mercedes and about a mistake that supposedly caused the engine to blow up.  She complained about insurance companies.  She complained about attorneys.  She complained because of the ruined $35,000 engine in her car.  She kept finding more things to complain about—all the while complaining about something she found at the outlet store.

My coworker would try to counter with something positive, only to be cut off with more negative word vomit.

And all I could think was if you have the means to drive a Mercedes with a $35,000 engine in it, why are you in here haggling and complaining over a few pairs of undies?

I felt bad for her.  It’s not easy to be that unhappy.

I felt even worse for my coworker.  It’s not easy to be sweet and upbeat to someone who sees the world through mud-colored glasses.

And in that moment I was conscious of being grateful that I don’t have so much money and so much stuff that those provisions actually become a burden.  I don’t want to be owned by my stuff.  I steward it, not the other way around.

It’s important to understand who or what is boss of your life.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2014 1:42 am

    I agree!!…:):)…

  2. June 3, 2014 2:29 am

    Reminds me of Proverbs 30:8-9. Give me neither poverty nor riches …

    • June 3, 2014 10:49 am

      I would like riches, but I would like them with vast amounts of wisdom. I don’t want them to rule me or control me, and I don’t want to fear being without them. But I know that in our culture money has the power to do positive things and not just be an encumbrance, and I’d like to partner with that.

      • June 3, 2014 4:15 pm

        I’m not sure a vast amount of wisdom helps – just read about Solomon! Although with the HS things might be different …

  3. June 3, 2014 9:39 am

    You’ve said so many good things here. Thank you.

    • June 3, 2014 10:47 am

      Thank you for being such a faithful encourager. I am always glad to see your name in the comment section.

      • June 3, 2014 10:56 am

        No problem, Lisa. I enjoy your candor and perspective on the spiritual life. It’s both refreshing and astute.

  4. butterflyny75 permalink
    June 3, 2014 10:30 am

    I love this post. It is so true – I never want to be that person who wins the lottery. Absurd, isn’t it? There is so much that comes with money. I am wealthy in my life right now with out vast amounts of cash.

    • June 3, 2014 10:47 am

      And that is priceless insight, Ms. Butterfly.

Leave a Reply

