Skip to content

Galactic glee

July 23, 2014

Yesterday I made my annual trip to the post office.

Actually, I don’t even make the trip annually if I can help it. I hate the post office with the fire of a thousand suns.

“Sparky, would you rather go see the dental hygienist or the post master?”

“DENTIST’S OFFICE FOR THE WIN!”

I am not kidding. I don’t even know why I hate it so much.

Maybe because it feels like a time warp. Every minute in there feels like an hour.

Maybe because I don’t really understand the workings of the whole thing. Prices are not clearly marked, and I don’t know which boxes are free and which ones I pay for and which envelope is for what purpose, and what part I have to fill out and what part is for the postal workers to fill out, and there’s always far too long of a line to just ask. I never feel empowered to make a wise choice, and therefore, I resist making any choice at all.

That last sentence should tell you a few things about me.

But yesterday I hauled my tail to the post office with glee. I didn’t care how long the line was. I didn’t care that I might get sent to the product wall to choose things I didn’t understand and then have to go to stand at the end of the line again which is somewhere on Jupiter, I think.

I went with a handful of things I’d been needing to mail, one of them for as long as nine months (seriously!), but only one item was driving me:

I mailed my Brazil trip contribution checks to Global Awakening.

It’s wild. The fundraising portion of preparation is over.

A few months ago when I told my friend about this and said I didn’t know where this kind of money would come from, she took my hand and held it palm up.

“This is easy for God, and He will make it easy for you. He is going to bring in everything you need, and then He will add a little extra just for you, to take care of other expenses,” she said, placing her fingertips in the palm of my hand as if she were putting money there. “Lord, we’re believing You for that!”

“I’ll gladly receive that!” I said, wanting her words to be true but still unable to see how it might happen.

But it happened. He did it, just as she said. I’m receiving the reality of it now. My church gathered to support me, and they became the “more than enough” that completed my fundraising and will help me with some of the extra expenses. That’s a huge gift to me, because beyond the cost of the trip paid to Global, my application states:

“You will be responsible for your travel cost to and from the hub city airport, personal spending money, the cost of snacks, meals on travel days, gratuities where appropriate (waiters, bus drivers, housekeeping, etc.), passport and visa fees, country exit tax, and immunizations where required.”

My passport has already been updated for this, and my immunizations had no cost because I was able to get them at the Air Force Base hospital. The rest of the list still looms, but it’s amazing to know that God has already moved His people to make provision. He’s amazing, and He’s got some really awesome kids, too.

So…next on the list is figuring out the visa application. I’ve never needed one for travel before and so I’m new to this process. Global has a recommended expediter they like, so I’ll check into that.

I wonder what cool thing He’s going to do next?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb Esling permalink
    July 23, 2014 1:12 pm

    I’m so fond of you. And of God. It’s so nice to see you two working together :)

    • July 23, 2014 1:19 pm

      Doesn’t matter who you are, when you’re working with Him, you’ve got a great team. :)

  2. July 23, 2014 2:19 pm

    I am so incredibly happy for you and thankful for all God is doing for my incredible friend thru this whole process!!! Much love and continued prayers!!!

  3. July 24, 2014 8:36 am

    Awesome! Thanks for this testimony.

Leave a Reply

