Skip to content

Rare minerals

July 29, 2014

I just received an email that offered to show me how to be seen as intensely valuable.

No, really…that’s what it said.

It’s a little baffling, really.  And I struggle to see it in any other way than when a little kid becomes frustrated by the adult conversations around him and so he begins competing for attention by trying to show off what he believes are his most impressive attributes, like hopping on one foot or crossing his eyes or making strange noises.  In his mind, those things prove that he is an impressive creature, and intensely valuable.

Not that those are particularly marketable skills, but hey…the strange noises eventually worked for Bobby McFerrin, so the dream lives on for the rest of us.

I don’t want to make anyone see me as intensely valuable.  I would much rather just be me and let others decide if my me-ness is valuable to them.

Some folks will decide it is.  Others will decide it isn’t.

And that’s ok.  I don’t actually stop being valuable just because I don’t suit someone’s needs.

I don’t know if anyone has told you, but your true value isn’t in what you do.  It’s in who you are.  And Who loves you.

You can stop hopping on one foot now.  You look cute but you must be awfully tired, and besides, it’s hard to have a conversation with someone who is out of breath because of all that hopping about.

I think it would be awesome if you started to believe that you’re intensely valuable and started treating yourself that way.   You know…be kind to yourself.  Refuse to let fear or anxiety have a go at you.  Let others take their cues about how you should be treated by letting them see how you treat yourself.

Let your peace be so attractive that those around you will want to mine you to understand what (or Who) is buried in you that makes you like that.  Let your goodwill towards yourself be contagious to others so that they can’t help but spill it back out on you.

You are, after all, intensely valuable.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

