Skip to content

On to the next phase

August 8, 2014

Today I gathered up all the important documents I’d been compiling, shoved them into a Fed Ex envelope, and waved goodbye to them as they began their speedy journey to the processing center in Chicago.

Brazilian visa application submitted, check.

As far as I could tell, I only had one more thing left to do: fill out a checklist for Global Awakening and send it to them.  According to the paperwork I could mail it, email it, or fax it.

I don’t have a fax machine.  It was easy to rule out that option.

Email is dandy.  It’s there almost instantly.  But…it means scanning the document and then figuring out where it is living on my computer.  I don’t know how to work the scanner.  And Google Maps can’t help me find my way around the neighborhoods on this Macbook.  I usually get Mr. Sparky to help with these things, but tonight is opening night for the play he’s in, and I hate asking for his time during the few minutes he has home.

So…mail it is.  I can work an envelope and a stamp with the best of them.  I even have my own address labels, which always make me feel like kind of a big deal.

Listen, you really need to just let me go with it.  I need to feel like kind of a big deal for a few minutes, because I’m still licking my wounds that I don’t know how to work the scanner and have once again been beaten by simple technology.  Not that it’s much of a challenge for technology to beat me.  It’s just not intuitive to me.

And so I filled out the checklist and dropped it in the mailbox, and it will likely be in Mechanicsburg, PA by Tuesday.

This is really happening.  I may look calm on the outside, but inside I am squealing hysterically.

Now I have the next six and a half weeks to learn more Portuguese, acquire things I need for this trip, and plan my packing.

That last part is more important than it usually is.  I can usually just figure that I can go to Walmart for anything I forget.  But they don’t have Walmart in Brazil, and even if they did I wouldn’t have the Portuguese skills to find what I was looking for.  So I need to plan it out and get it right on this end.

You know what this means:  I’m gonna be a list-makin’ fool.

Am I the only person who does things that aren’t on the list and then goes back and adds them to the list just so I can have the accomplished feeling of crossing them off?

Yeah…I didn’t think so.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2014 10:17 pm

    That last one… yep! Me too!

  2. August 8, 2014 10:33 pm

    I’m happy this is becoming a reality for you.

    • August 8, 2014 10:34 pm

      It’s just crazy! But in the best possible way. :)

Leave a Reply

