Skip to content

It sounded so simple…

August 28, 2014

Mercy!

Some things sound easy but end up being far more complicated than could ever seem reasonable.

I bet you’re wondering if I have a for-instance.

Why, yes.  Yes, I do.  Thank you for asking.

I was doing a bit of reading about voltage converters for my upcoming trip to Brazil when I saw mention that using one will often kill your hair appliances, or at the very least, damage them and void their warranties.  That is when I remembered how poorly my hair dryer performed in Poland, even though I was using the proper converter.  It barely ran, and it got hot and made weird noises.

Kinda like me.

I have a high-end flat iron right now that I do not want to kill.  And my hairdryer isn’t high-end, but it’s still very functional and I like it.  So really, it makes sense to just invest in some inexpensive dual voltage hair tools that I’ll keep for traveling.

Easy, yes?

Easy, no.

The hair dryer actually will be easy enough.  The flat iron is about to make me crazy.

Forty kajillion brands, thirty-nine kajillion of them rather shady sounding, consumer ratings all over the place, prices equally all over the place.

Which one will work well but not fry off my hair?  I don’t know.

And then there’s the shoe issue.

I need a pair of black sandals.  Dressy-casual, good support, comfortable enough for standing for long periods of time. Nothing that looks too flip-floppish.   I’m not dying to wear black sandals, but they’ll match pretty much everything I’m packing, so it only makes sense to ignore all the pretty colors and go for sensible black.  Besides, I’ll be able to wear them to work.

Easy, yes?

Easy, no.

My feet aren’t always so easy to fit.  And I’m very picky about how my shoes look and feel, because uncomfortable feet are a miserable life distraction.  My trip to the Merrell, Clark, and Rack Room outlet stores was a strike-out, as was the trip to Belk and a local quality shoe store.  I can’t just buy shoes online…I have to try them on first.

By the end of the day I realized that I was being distracted and bested by simple things.

I wish I could say it’s the first time in my life that has happened.  It would be better said that I’m a pro at it.

I don’t know how to figure these things out and make these decisions.  I don’t know what investments are wise, and what products will serve me well.  But the great thing is that I don’t have to know.  God already has it figured out.  And I have a fabulous group of people praying for every little need I could possibly have related to this trip.

So now I wait to see where He leads, how He provides, and what wisdom He gives.  It’s time to stop letting this be so hard.  It’s better to walk in confidence that when I come across His yes, I will know it.

He’s really good at this stuff.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2014 9:23 am

    I have a sneaking feeling that when you get to Brazil, those things will be a very low priority. :o)

    • August 28, 2014 9:30 am

      I figure if they’re accomplished with wisdom on this end, I won’t have to give them a second thought in Brazil! I especially don’t want to think about my feet and how much I wish I could ditch my shoes! Haha!

Leave a Reply

