Skip to content

Winning

September 9, 2014

I wish I could say I accomplished something great today.  Solved some great mystery, brokered world peace, discovered a cure for cancer, made a perfect omelet.

But the truth is, I’m pretty satisfied with “I didn’t cry.”

My knee has ached today.  But I didn’t cry.

My back went wonky yesterday and I’ve spent the past 36 hours in a very uncomfortable state.  I didn’t cry.

At work, two of us were covering a floor that would have kept four associates busy.  It was nuts.  I didn’t cry.

It took me three hours to manage to eat a child’s chicken salad sandwich from Zoe’s because the best I could do was shove a bite in my mouth when I was running to the back room to search for product depleted from the floor.  I didn’t cry.

The store is very low in stock on a certain product we typically sell a lot of and it’s not available at the warehouse for me to order for direct shipping….and I had to keep telling disappointed women that I couldn’t get what they needed.  I didn’t cry.

In the middle of running (or hobbling) as fast as I could to help four different women, another customer became very rude when I asked her if she was finding what she needed. She snipped that since nobody would help her she was just going to leave.  And she flounced out.  She had only been in the store a short time, and I realized that she was actually waiting for me to ask to help her so she could take her frustration out on me by dropping her items and walking out with an audience.  I didn’t cry.

But I wasn’t sorry to see her go, either.

I came home to a pile of dishes with a back too sore to deal with standing up long enough to do them.  I didn’t cry.

But I loaded the dishwasher and the Sparkette was kind enough to do the hand wash items.  I know she didn’t want to.

I didn’t solve world hunger today.  But I wasn’t beaten by pain, frustration, or someone acting like a meanie head.

And today, I’m calling that good enough.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2014 3:14 pm

    awesome. keep it up.

  2. September 10, 2014 9:50 pm

    And…you wrote a pretty darn awesome post!

Leave a Reply

