Skip to content

Organized chaos

September 17, 2014

The pile of papers at my elbow is starting to get ridiculous.

It’s been growing for about two months.  Much of it, although not all, is related to the Brazil trip.  I need it where I can find it at a moment’s notice.  And so it’s stayed there, and every now and then it grows as I print off something new.  Next week I’ll sort it to make sure I have with me whatever documents I’ll need on hand.

Until then, I’ll leave it in its current state of organized chaos.  It may be messy, but I have an idea where things are in that pile.

I have more spots like that than I care to admit.  They are messy, but I have an idea where to find what I’m looking for.  What drives me nuts is when I have no clue where to find what I’m looking for.

Like the box of Brio trains that has to be somewhere in this house.  Spark Jr. and the Sparkettes played with them when they were young, and last year I wanted to get them out for the GrandSparks.  Except I couldn’t find them.  Nearly turned the house upside down looking for them. I still don’t know where they are.

My dresser upstairs has long ago lost its surface space.  It’s the catchall spot for the things I’ve acquired that I need to pack for the trip.  Like some basic first aid and medicines like Pepto, melatonin, and Airborne.  A neck pillow so I have a fighting chance of sleeping on the plane (I never do on international flights and I hope to change that this time.).  The info about my vaccinations.  Travel-sized toiletries.  A couple of boxes of Clif bars.

For all I know there may be small animals living amongst the piles on top of my dresser.  Other than cats, that is.

And it’s all so strange to think that in a week I’m going to tidy up these piles of papers and paraphernalia and pack it all where it needs to go…and then those spaces will be empty.

That’s a strange thought.

I don’t think I’m ready to really think about it yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

