Skip to content

The quandary of more-dom

September 19, 2014

My to-do list is slowly dwindling.

By the time I leave for Brazil next Thursday, everything that really has to be done will be done.  I don’t know if that means the list will be completed; it’s probable that I’ll yet add things to the list, and just as probable that I’ll decide that some things weren’t as important as I first thought.

The to-do list helps me get ready.  But it can’t really help me be prepared.

I don’t even know what prepared looks like.

Expectations are a mixed bag on this deal.  On one hand I don’t know what to expect, so I’m not really setting myself up to expect anything.  But on the other hand…I have very high expectations.  I can’t explain to you how it is possible to have no expectations and high expectations at the same time.  But somehow, it’s true.

I guess maybe I’m expecting this to be more than I could ask or imagine, since God is a more-than-I-can-ask-or-imagine kind of Person.  But that means expecting more than I know how to expect.  Which, of course, I can’t do.  And yet I can.

Today the iPhone 6 was released.  People get in line for these things, expecting a newer version of the iPhone to be a better version of the iPhone, hoping it can wow and amaze them.  We can kind of imagine an iPhone 6 before we have it, and maybe even an iPhone 7.  But can you imagine an iPhone 24?

You can probably believe an iPhone 24 will one day exist.  You expect that it would be pretty awesome and probably do more than you can currently imagine any phone doing.  But…you have no realistic grid for that “more”.

I have no realistic grid for this trip.

I just know it’s going to be “more”.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2014 11:31 pm

    Will definitely pray that God moves upon the people and in you on this trip.

  2. September 20, 2014 2:53 pm

    Great post Lisa! I’m sorry I haven’t been commenting on your posts lately. I am taking Writing 101 with WordPress and it keeps me very very busy! I wish you the very best as well as much safety on your trip! “Go with God” is appropriate for me to say. I understand that a lot of people were disappointed in these new IPhone 6’s. I highly doubt that will be your case in Brazil.

    • September 20, 2014 6:59 pm

      Glad to know you’re alive and well, though maybe drowning in words a bit! Thank you for your blessing and prayers…it means a lot to me!

Leave a Reply

