Skip to content

Maybe behind the towels

October 19, 2014

There are few things more annoying than knowing that I bought something and tucked it away for future use, and then not being able to find it when I need it.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this.

Hand soap is on sale, I need one but purchase three because the price is good.  Tuck it away…somewhere.  I always keep extra hand soap under the sinks, and I don’t remember ever putting it anywhere else, so I should find it there, right?  I mean, where else would it be?

That’s a really good question.  And I don’t know the answer.

To tell the truth, I’m not really thinking about hand soap right now.  It’s just a convenient and ever-applicable example, because I really do believe my house has some sort of hand soap black hole.

I’m really thinking about the decades of study and training I’ve had to understand the gospel, and what incredibly good news it truly is, and how my identity is completely changed because of it, and what amazing privileges I have as a result of it, and how I get to be part of bringing the kingdom of heaven to earth.

In the bible it says:

To those who have received a faith of the same kind as ours, by the righteousness of our God and Savior, Jesus Christ:  Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord;  seeing that His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence.

2 Peter 1:1-3

So maybe you don’t read the bible much.  That’s ok.  I’m going to briefly unpack a couple of things here, and the concepts are simple.

Who has received a faith?  Me.

Who got it because of how good and perfect Jesus is and not because of any personal qualities?  Me again.

Who has been given, once again through no merit of her own, everything pertaining to life and godliness?  Yup…that would be me again.

You know what that word everything means?

It means EVERYTHING.  As in all the stuff.  Full benefits.  The total deluxe package with all the “but wait, there’s more!” addenda completely exhausted.

SO WHERE IN TARNATION DID I PUT IT?!

I’m not talking about moral failure here.  If you keep reading in the book of 2 Peter it talks about some great qualities to cultivate that will help a person keep it between the ditches when it comes to that.

I’m talking about my frustration with how easily I accept a limited, powerless gospel which is really rather questionable on the good news scale.  And how if I really, truly got the full goodness of this good news, I would walk in a power, boldness, and fearlessness that sometimes I swear must surely be hiding out with my hand soap stash.

What does it take for me to really live as if I really believe the truth that it’s impossible to overstate how good God is…and how deeply and wildly and passionately He loves…and how personal He’s willing to get…and how willing He is to back me up if I’ll step out in boldness to bless the people He loves and wants to touch?

I need a higher thought.  I need more boldness, more fire.  According to 2 Peter, I already have those things.  Somewhere.

I look down and I can still see me, so this blaze needs turned up a few more notches until that mess is incinerated.

I can’t handle one more minute of the hope-sucking mindset that says I need to be nice, balanced, controlled, or reasonable.  I’m bored out of my ever-lovin’ skull with it.

I’d rather be passionate, sold-out, and completely yielded to Him with no thought that I might actually be able to exaggerate God’s extravagant and outrageous love and His willingness to get His hands dirty with the likes of broken humanity.

Jesus, You’ve got to teach me how to do this, because I sure as heck don’t know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2014 11:06 pm

    I have one of those minions in my house somewhere (could be an elf) that finds the things I hide and then I can’t find them. (LOL!)

    • October 19, 2014 11:08 pm

      If I have any of those, I bet they have really clean hands. ;)

  2. October 20, 2014 3:13 am

    Its socks in our house they go in to the washer in pairs and only one comes out! 😀

  3. October 20, 2014 3:13 am

    But more to the point here, I so identify with this post!

    • October 20, 2014 9:19 am

      Glad to know there are others out there hungry for the same thing.

Leave a Reply

