Skip to content

That’ll leave a mark

October 21, 2014

Nobody likes to be disappointed.

That seems like a duh kind of statement, but think about it:  you can only be disappointed if your hope took a ding.  And it never feels good when your hope gets dinged.  Sometimes I don’t even know I am hoping something until disappointment shows up on my doorstep and shows me the dent in my hope.

And then I have to decide what I’m going to do with dented hope.

My preference is to just keep moving and leave it behind.  But sometimes that’s not a helpful or healthy option.  Sometimes I have to stop for a moment and really look at the situation.  And then I have to admit that I’ve got dented hope, and it makes weird noises when I try to move forward.  If it isn’t tended to, it will keep breaking down until the sound of it is deafening and overtakes my life.  That will not be pleasant.  No…better take it to an expert.

So then I go complain to Jesus and show Him the dent.

Sometimes Jesus looks at it and says “it’s ok…we can pound that out.”  And I don’t know how He does it, but suddenly the dent is gone and I’m ready to take on the world.

But other times He looks at it and says “we can keep everything functional and even make it better than before.  But this is going to leave a mark.”  And I don’t know how He does it, because the dent is still there but it no longer looks or feels like damage.

In fact, often the dent is actually rather beautiful.

What a striking paradox it is.  Who doesn’t hope to be beautiful?  And yet to think that beauty may actually come in the form of a dent in our hope?

The upside-down Kingdom never ceases to amaze me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

