Skip to content

Stuck on it

October 25, 2014

Going to Brazil meant depending on God to move people to contribute their money and their encouragement.  He did a fabulous job.  When all was said and done, I lacked for neither.

And the amazing thing is that those gifts just keep on giving.  Not a moment goes by that I’m not experiencing the results of having been in Brazil with Global Awakening.  That kind of experience will rock a person to the core, changing the very fiber of his or her being.

And by “gifts” I don’t just mean money.  One check arrived with a bright pink sticky note attached to it.  On it my gracious supporter had written:

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth. Acts 1:8

I took the note and stuck it on a drawer front above my computer in my roll top desk.  I see it every day. At this very moment all I have to do is raise my eyes from this screen and there it is.

Before the trip, that note filled me with hope and excitement about the things yet to occur.

Now, almost three weeks after the trip, the note reminds me of the amazing things that happened and of the power I get to carry beyond Brazil, power that witnesses to the person of Jesus Christ.

Folks, I can’t get a handful of popcorn to my mouth without dropping some, and the Holy Spirit trusts me with His power.  And He never acts like it was a bad decision and He’s sorry He did it.

I spent a lot of my life thinking that the Holy Spirit’s power was primarily to help me avoid sin.  For a long time it never occurred to me that He might want me to use it to heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse lepers, and cast out demons (Mark 10:8).  Sure, it’s right there in His book, but since I didn’t see it happening around me and I wasn’t hearing it taught that this is actually normal Christianity, I interpreted it to mean that it was something that only Jesus’ disciples did.  You know, in Bible Times.  Not, like, now.

I’ve never been so happy to be wrong about something in my life.

The trip is over but I can’t yet bring myself to take that sticky note down.  I still need the reminders.

The Holy Spirit has come upon me and I have received power.

I am a witness to the power and person of Jesus Christ.

And I carry it to the ends of the earth—to Destin and Sao Paulo, to Tom Thumb and Walmart, to every place my feet touch the ground or my words appear on the screen.

I knew it before…but now I know it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2014 12:45 am

    Unashamed! That’s awesome!

  2. October 26, 2014 10:45 am

    Wonderful post Lisa!

    • October 26, 2014 2:07 pm

      Thank you so much, dear faithful encourager!

Leave a Reply

