Skip to content

Hindrances and entanglements

October 28, 2014

I keep starting a post and then deleting everything I’ve written.

It’s one of those nights.

The truth is that I don’t much enjoy being in my own skin at this very moment.  That could change in five minutes.  In fact, it almost certainly it will.  I seem to be strapped into a roller coaster that is prone to rather violent tendencies.  I buzz a trip around the track, come limping back in rubbing my neck because of all the whiplash, take a short breather, and then off I go again.

This is not fun.

Life is full of things from which we’d all like to be free.  Taxes.  Mosquitos.  Stomach flu.  Bad hair days.  Mean people. Traffic jams.

But I’ve decided that there is one thing I really want and need to be completely and totally free of: me.

I’m pretty sure that if I get free of me and my stuff, I’ll also be free of you and your stuff.  And if I’m free of me and you, what is left to hold me back from anything?

I can’t say I know a lot of people who are truly free of themselves.  It would be a new sort of weird, removing all the hindrances and entanglements that come with having opinions and issues and belief systems that don’t support who God has made me to be and all that comes with that.

I’m used to the old kind of weird.  I have a lot of that; it’s my go-to.  Maybe it really is time for a new kind of weird.

God’s going to have to pull this one off if it’s going to happen.  But if He’s game…well, so am I.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

