Skip to content

Dropping the beat

November 26, 2014

According to the news

and my Facebook feed

and the internet,

the world is on fire and will almost certainly burn to the ground

unless it implodes first.

It’s days like these I wish

I had a decent sense of rhythm

and a decent amount of coordination

and a decent pair of shoes.

 

It’s days like these I wish I could dance.

 

Not the sort of dancing that is only technically dancing

because the music is playing

and I am moving,

but the sort that feels like dancing—

like flying

like leaping

like whirling

like stomping

like fireworks in my chest

that explode out through my body.

Unfortunately I am

dreadfully uncoordinated

and there is little joy in dancing because

it feels out of rhythm

and off-kilter,

and isn’t that how those fires got started in the first place?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2014 12:23 am

    Dreadfully uncoordinated fires. Those are the worst fires of all. Dreadful indeed.

  2. Mr Sparky permalink
    November 26, 2014 3:43 pm

    Love it!!

  3. November 26, 2014 10:07 pm

    Yes. Very true.

Leave a Reply

