Skip to content

New York minute

November 30, 2014

It’s been said that the shortest period of time is the interval between a traffic light turning green and the guy behind you honking his horn.

I’m trying hard to not be that guy.

I wait in the stillness, in the aching, hoping for answers to questions I don’t even know how to ask.  I watch with bruised hope, longing a door of yes to open, attentive to even the smallest cracks in the door frame of promise.

And just like a three-minute traffic light feels like it lasts for three hours,  it feels like I’ve been waiting here forever.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2014 10:13 pm

    Your traffic lights only last 3 minutes? Our lights, I’m pretty sure, last 10 minutes! LOL. I know this is a serious post and I feel like you are lost in your thoughts for answers. Sometimes those answers don’t come right when we “think” we need them. They come when God thinks we need them. God’s timing is not our own timing. But he always knows what and when is best. I find comfort in that. I hope you do too. Speaking of traffic lights. My daughter spends her time at traffic lights flossing her teeth. Haha! I guess that is a good habit to get into but then there are probably a lot of honkers when the lights turn green. :)

    • December 1, 2014 10:14 pm

      Huh. Well, I probably could stand to floss more… ;)

      • December 1, 2014 10:22 pm

        LOL! She keeps those floss sticks in her car and uses those while she waits.

        • December 1, 2014 10:42 pm

          Well, I suppose good dental hygiene would be reasonable good fruit for this season of my life. Haha!

  2. December 25, 2014 11:10 am

    You are fun….Thanks

    • December 25, 2014 12:30 pm

      I will take that as a high compliment, because I surely hate being bored and don’t want to contribute to the world’s boredom problem! Thank you for stopping by and reading. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

