Skip to content

Yours and mine

December 2, 2014

I’m sure you’ve heard it.  You’ve probably even said it.  I think we all have.

“Why can’t people be more _________?”

If we’re honest, what we really mean is “why can’t people be more like me?”

For some weird reason we tend to believe our line of thinking and reasoning is the most sensible/mature/creative/innovative/intelligent/wise.  So why wouldn’t everyone want to think just like us?

Heaven help the world if it was filled with carbon copies of me.

We’d break all the computers.  We would never eat delicious things if they required a long period of preparation.  We’d have a pile of unsent cards on our desk because we always forget to actually sign and mail them.  Cilantro plants would overtake the world because nobody would be eating them.  Sheep would be out of a job because we’d all hate the way wool feels on our skin.  Our fridges would all have a row of accidental science experiments in the back.  And we’d all only be able to do one thing at a time because we’re lousy multi-taskers.

We won’t even get into the quirks of navigating life with introverts.

I am not the end-all, be-all example of upstanding excellence in humanity.  Yeah, I know…shocking.

I believe that people who have the Holy Spirit have all of His gifts and attributes resident within them because He is resident within them.  But He gives different measures of those gifts and attributes to different people.

If you don’t think that’s true, then just ask me operate in the gift of administration.  You better hope you don’t have anything of value resting on my success.  I know some gifted administrators.  And I know me.  There’s a significant difference. Mercy.

Speaking of mercy…that’s another gift that isn’t my strong suit.  It’s not that I lack kindness or compassion.  I actually operate with a good deal of both, at least most of the time.  But I can only pretend to be nice about wallowing in the emotional trenches for so long, hand holding and head patting and whatnot, and then I need to set fire to something…and it will mostly likely be your hair.

There are things I do with excellence, too, places where I flow effortlessly in gifts I could never have made up on my own.  Trust me, you want me in those places.

Just like I want you in the places you were made to flow and prosper.

Someone’s gotta eat the cilantro and send me birthday cards, after all.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2014 10:31 pm

    Is it your birthday? Happy Birthday!!

    • December 2, 2014 10:39 pm

      No, but I’ll take the happy wishes anyway! Haha!

      • December 2, 2014 10:45 pm

        I wish I knew how to get that cute little music note and I would sing you happy birthday! Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday to you! And many wishes and many more!! LOL

Leave a Reply

